This content is provided by Lovereading4kids.co.uk
Stink: The Incredible Shrinking Kid by Megan McDonald
  

Stink: The Incredible Shrinking Kid

Megan McDonald

Part of the Stink Series
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Synopsis

Stink: The Incredible Shrinking Kid by Megan McDonald

Help! Stink is shrinking! Judy Moody's little bother will try anything to make himself taller in the first book in the series.Perfect for fans of Captain Underpants, Mr Gum and Horrid Henry, this is the first book in the hilarious series about Judy Moody's little bother , from bestselling duo Megan McDonald and Peter H. Reynolds. Stink is short. And now he's shrinking! Every day he makes his moody older sister, Judy, measure him. When one day he measures up shorter, Stink decides that the time has come to take action! But gelling his hair into spikes fails, and Stink soon realizes that maybe being short isn't such a problem - he'll just have to wait till he's older if he wants to be taller. A must for comic book fans, this book features inventive comic strips of Stink and his larger-than-life adventures!

Reviews

Recommended, Exploring Language Arts: Powerful Books, Inspired Writers, Part I * Book Links * Stink is the perfect protagonist--a kid mom and dad would like, while still being someone his readers would like to hang out with. * (The Childish) Literary Snob blog * In this very funny and cleverly written book, we meet a boy who has the kinds of problems that we all face when we are young. The illustrator's comic book style drawings perfectly suit the text, and readers will be eager to find out what Stink is going to do next. * Looking Glass Review online * Featured/recommended * Once Upon A Book blog *

About the Author

Megan McDonald

As a child: “Sometimes I think I am Judy Moody,” says Megan McDonald, author of the award-winning Judy Moody books. “I’m certainly moody, like she is. Judy has a strong voice and always speaks up for herself. I like that.” Being able to speak up for herself wasn’t always easy. Megan grew up as the youngest of five sisters, in a house full of books in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Her father, an ironworker, built bridges across the city and was known to his co-workers as ‘Little Johnny the Storyteller.’ Every evening at dinnertime, the McDonald family would gather around the kitchen table, talking and telling stories. But with four older sisters, Megan remembers barely being able to get a word in edgeways. “I’m told I began to stutter with the effort of trying to keep up,” she says. “That’s when my mother gave me a notebook, so that I could write down everything I wanted to say instead!”

Things you didn't know about Megan McDonald
1. She begins writing each book on a napkin.
2. Her favourite book as a child was Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh.
3. She is a lifetime member of the real Toad Pee Club!
4. When she was born the fifth girl in her family, the doctor yelled, “It’s a boy!” for a joke.
5. She loves ice cream so much (especially Screamin’ Mimi’s) that she once fell over chasing the ice cream van and had to have stitches!
6. She has two dogs, two horses, and fifteen wild turkeys that land on her roof to wake her up every morning.
7. The Rubber Hand Trick is the best joke she ever played on her sisters. Read the first book, Judy Moody, to find out just what it involves!
8. Her middle name is Jo… She once wanted to change her name to Megan Jo Amy-Beth McDonald so it would contain the names of all four Little Women in the book by Louisa May Alcott.
9. As a girl, she collected bugs, fancy toothpicks, scabs and Barbie doll heads!
10. When she worked at a bookstore, she once chased (and caught!) a burglar who stole two bags full of books and tried to get away on his bicycle!

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
112 pages

Author

Megan McDonald
More books by Megan McDonald

Author's Website

www.meganmcdonald.net/

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

6th June 2013

ISBN

9781406346695


I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****