Stink and the World's Worst Super-Stinky Sneakers by Megan McDonald
  

Synopsis

Stink and the World's Worst Super-Stinky Sneakers by Megan McDonald

Stink's foul-smelling sneakers make a guest appearance in the third book in the hilarious series about the little brother of Judy Moody. Ever wanted to know what the WORST smell in the world is? Super-sniffer Stink Moody is finding out all about terrible pongs in the third book in the series, perfect for fans of Horrible Histories, Captain Underpants and Mr Gum. Plus, look out for the illustrated Stinky facts at the end of each chapter - Stink knows just how to make science fun. When his class go on a field trip to the Gross-Me-Out exhibition at the science museum, Stink discovers that his nose has amazing sniffing abilities. Before long, he's set to go toe-to-toe in a stinky-sneaker contest! Will Stink's sneakers be foul enough to win the Golden Clothespin Award?

Reviews

Fans of Judy Moody's second-grade brother will be delighted by this third edition of his adventures, featuring familiar characters and plenty of new information about toilet water, corpse flowers and other smelly substances, as well as a surprising career opportunity. Kirkus Reviews, USA Stink is a delightful protagonist, comical and bright, and McDonald cleverly imparts information on smells... A funny book worthy of being added to almost any collection. School Library Journal, USA A brilliantly written and descriptive narrative with universal appeal. Junior

About the Author

Megan McDonald

As a child: “Sometimes I think I am Judy Moody,” says Megan McDonald, author of the award-winning Judy Moody books. “I’m certainly moody, like she is. Judy has a strong voice and always speaks up for herself. I like that.” Being able to speak up for herself wasn’t always easy. Megan grew up as the youngest of five sisters, in a house full of books in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Her father, an ironworker, built bridges across the city and was known to his co-workers as ‘Little Johnny the Storyteller.’ Every evening at dinnertime, the McDonald family would gather around the kitchen table, talking and telling stories. But with four older sisters, Megan remembers barely being able to get a word in edgeways. “I’m told I began to stutter with the effort of trying to keep up,” she says. “That’s when my mother gave me a notebook, so that I could write down everything I wanted to say instead!”

Things you didn't know about Megan McDonald
1. She begins writing each book on a napkin.
2. Her favourite book as a child was Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh.
3. She is a lifetime member of the real Toad Pee Club!
4. When she was born the fifth girl in her family, the doctor yelled, “It’s a boy!” for a joke.
5. She loves ice cream so much (especially Screamin’ Mimi’s) that she once fell over chasing the ice cream van and had to have stitches!
6. She has two dogs, two horses, and fifteen wild turkeys that land on her roof to wake her up every morning.
7. The Rubber Hand Trick is the best joke she ever played on her sisters. Read the first book, Judy Moody, to find out just what it involves!
8. Her middle name is Jo… She once wanted to change her name to Megan Jo Amy-Beth McDonald so it would contain the names of all four Little Women in the book by Louisa May Alcott.
9. As a girl, she collected bugs, fancy toothpicks, scabs and Barbie doll heads!
10. When she worked at a bookstore, she once chased (and caught!) a burglar who stole two bags full of books and tried to get away on his bicycle!

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
144 pages
Interest Age: From 7

Author

Megan McDonald
More books by Megan McDonald

Author's Website

www.meganmcdonald.net/

Publisher

Publication date

6th June 2013

ISBN

9781406347067


We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools