Waffle Hearts by Maria Parr
  

Synopsis

Waffle Hearts by Maria Parr

A deliciously funny story of friendship and family, full of laugh-out-loud adventures and first experiences of death and loss. Shortlisted for the Marsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation, Maria Parr's acclaimed debut novel will delight fans of Pippi Longstocking, and is simultaneously funny and hair-raising ...strong in its sense of place and community, never shying away from the joys and difficulties of friendship, and profound loss (Book Trust). Nine-year-olds Trille and Lena are neighbours and best friends - at least, Trille thinks that Lena is his best friend, despite the escapades into which she regularly drags him. In the wonderful village of Mathildewick Cove they have plenty of time to re-enact the story of Noah's Ark (or Noah's Shark, as Lena calls it), enjoy the beginning of summer celebrations with their families and even advertise for a new dad for Lena. Trille and Lena will make exciting companions for young readers as they share their fun-filled antics, as well as some important understandings of family and friendship.

Reviews

Perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking ... a heartbreaking, heartmaking, hilariously funny tale . . an honest, sensitive exploration of death, loss and grief ... bold and brilliant. playingbythebook.net This really is a tremendous book, with everything I could hope for in a book to share with my children

one that combines humour and the carefree innocence and antics of childhood that are full of fun and laughter... As well as the humour there is pathos too, particularly when Auntie Granny dies. Trille's deep sadness can be felt as he tries to understand and come to terms with her death. Parr approaches this loss with great compassion and understanding. A truly enchanting book that is sure to become a firm favourite with children Outside/In World Meet Lena Lid, Norway s very own answer to Pippi Longstocking

About the Author

Maria Parr is a talented young Norwegian writer who has won the Brage Prize, the Critics' Award, the Zilveren Griffel and the Prix Sorcieres. She has a Master's degree in Nordic languages and literature and is a high school teacher. She lives in Norway. Guy Puzey grew up in the Highlands of Scotland, just a short swim away from Norway. He began translating Norwegian literature in 2006, having studied the language at the University of Edinburgh. In 2011 he went on to complete a doctorate on Italian and Norwegian language policy. He works at the University as a course organizer and researcher, and has taught a number of courses including Scandinavian linguistic history, children's literature and literary translation.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
240 pages
Interest Age: From 8

Author

Maria Parr
More books by Maria Parr

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

2nd October 2014

ISBN

9781406347906


We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools