Waffle Hearts by Maria Parr
  

Synopsis

Waffle Hearts by Maria Parr

A deliciously funny story of friendship and family, full of laugh-out-loud adventures and first experiences of death and loss. Shortlisted for the Marsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation, Maria Parr's acclaimed debut novel will delight fans of Pippi Longstocking, and is simultaneously funny and hair-raising ...strong in its sense of place and community, never shying away from the joys and difficulties of friendship, and profound loss (Book Trust). Nine-year-olds Trille and Lena are neighbours and best friends - at least, Trille thinks that Lena is his best friend, despite the escapades into which she regularly drags him. In the wonderful village of Mathildewick Cove they have plenty of time to re-enact the story of Noah's Ark (or Noah's Shark, as Lena calls it), enjoy the beginning of summer celebrations with their families and even advertise for a new dad for Lena. Trille and Lena will make exciting companions for young readers as they share their fun-filled antics, as well as some important understandings of family and friendship.

Reviews

Perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking ... a heartbreaking, heartmaking, hilariously funny tale . . an honest, sensitive exploration of death, loss and grief ... bold and brilliant. playingbythebook.net This really is a tremendous book, with everything I could hope for in a book to share with my children; beauty, wit, wisdom, joy, thoughtfulness and a lot of fun playingbythebook.net Stuffed full of fun, innocence, naughtiness, passion ... Maria Parr approaches death, loss and uncertainty with great compassion and understanding Bookaroo Fans of Pippi Longstocking will love Waffle Hearts ... She has created a very special book; one that combines humour and the carefree innocence and antics of childhood that are full of fun and laughter... As well as the humour there is pathos too, particularly when Auntie Granny dies. Trille's deep sadness can be felt as he tries to understand and come to terms with her death. Parr approaches this loss with great compassion and understanding. A truly enchanting book that is sure to become a firm favourite with children Outside/In World Meet Lena Lid, Norway s very own answer to Pippi Longstocking; a feisty, funny girl whose days are packed with offbeat adventures... Trille and Lena will make exciting companions for young readers as they share their fun-filled antics, as well as some important understandings of family and friendship Beaufort Street Books Deals with the pain of bereavement and separation in a wonderfully warm, unsentimental way ... it is the kind of book that a child will treasure ... a real gem The School Librarian Simultaneously funny and hair-raising, these stories are beautifully crafted creating a subtly textured emotional world, strong in its sense of place and community, never shying away from the joys and difficulties of friendship, and profound loss. Booktrust 'oy, fun and adventure tumble out of this book ... it will make you laugh out loud, cry, hold your breath and sigh with relief Books for Keeps There is a smattering of Norwegian culture, which is interesting and lovely. Written in true Scandinavian style, this book is perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking. OmniLibros

About the Author

Maria Parr is a talented young Norwegian writer who has won the Brage Prize, the Critics' Award, the Zilveren Griffel and the Prix Sorcieres. She has a Master's degree in Nordic languages and literature and is a high school teacher. She lives in Norway.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
240 pages
Interest Age: From 8

Author

Maria Parr
More books by Maria Parr

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

2nd October 2014

ISBN

9781406347906


A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools