Waffle Hearts by Maria Parr
  

Waffle Hearts

Written by Maria Parr
Illustrated by

Synopsis

Waffle Hearts by Maria Parr

A deliciously funny story of friendship and family, full of laugh-out-loud adventures and first experiences of death and loss.Shortlisted for the Marsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation, Maria Parr's acclaimed debut novel will delight fans of Pippi Longstocking, and is simultaneously funny and hair-raising ... strong in its sense of place and community, never shying away from the joys and difficulties of friendship, and profound loss (Book Trust).Nine-year-olds Trille and Lena are neighbours and best friends - at least, Trille thinks that Lena is his best friend, despite the escapades into which she regularly drags him. In the wonderful village of Mathildewick Cove they have plenty of time to re-enact the story of Noah's Ark (or Noah's Shark, as Lena calls it), enjoy the beginning of summer celebrations with their families and even advertise for a new dad for Lena. Trille and Lena will make exciting companions for young readers as they share their fun-filled antics, as well as some important understandings of family and friendship.

Reviews

Perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking . . . a heartbreaking, heartmaking, hilariously funny tale . . an honest, sensitive exploration of death, loss and grief . . . bold and brilliant. * playingbythebook.net * This really is a tremendous book, with everything I could hope for in a book to share with my children

one that combines humour and the carefree innocence and antics of childhood that are full of fun and laughter. . . As well as the humour there is pathos too, particularly when Auntie Granny dies. Trille's deep sadness can be felt as he tries to understand and come to terms with her death. Parr approaches this loss with great compassion and understanding. A truly enchanting book that is sure to become a firm favourite with children * Outside/In World * Meet Lena Lid, Norway s very own answer to Pippi Longstocking

About the Author

Maria Parr is an outstanding Norwegian author who has been compared to Astrid Lindgren. Her first book, Waffle Hearts, won France's Prix Sorcieres and the Dutch Zilveren Griffel, and was shortlisted for the Marsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation. Waffle Hearts has been translated into 26 different languages, was made into a popular children's television series, and has been performed on stage. Astrid the Unstoppable is Maria's second novel, and won the prestigious Brage Prize for best children's book and the Norwegian Critics' Prize. It has been sold to 19 countries and made into a theatre production. Maria lives in Norway.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
240 pages
Interest Age: From 8 years

Author

Maria Parr
More books by Maria Parr

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

2nd October 2014

ISBN

9781406347906


We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****