Waffle Hearts by Maria Parr
  

Waffle Hearts

Written by Maria Parr
Illustrated by

Synopsis

Waffle Hearts by Maria Parr

A deliciously funny story of friendship and family, full of laugh-out-loud adventures and first experiences of death and loss. Shortlisted for the Marsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation, Maria Parr's acclaimed debut novel will delight fans of Pippi Longstocking, and is simultaneously funny and hair-raising ... strong in its sense of place and community, never shying away from the joys and difficulties of friendship, and profound loss (Book Trust). Nine-year-olds Trille and Lena are neighbours and best friends - at least, Trille thinks that Lena is his best friend, despite the escapades into which she regularly drags him. In the wonderful village of Mathildewick Cove they have plenty of time to re-enact the story of Noah's Ark (or Noah's Shark, as Lena calls it), enjoy the beginning of summer celebrations with their families and even advertise for a new dad for Lena. Trille and Lena will make exciting companions for young readers as they share their fun-filled antics, as well as some important understandings of family and friendship.

Reviews

Perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking . . . a heartbreaking, heartmaking, hilariously funny tale . . an honest, sensitive exploration of death, loss and grief . . . bold and brilliant. * playingbythebook.net * This really is a tremendous book, with everything I could hope for in a book to share with my children

one that combines humour and the carefree innocence and antics of childhood that are full of fun and laughter. . . As well as the humour there is pathos too, particularly when Auntie Granny dies. Trille's deep sadness can be felt as he tries to understand and come to terms with her death. Parr approaches this loss with great compassion and understanding. A truly enchanting book that is sure to become a firm favourite with children * Outside/In World * Meet Lena Lid, Norway s very own answer to Pippi Longstocking

About the Author

Maria Parr is an outstanding Norwegian author who has been compared to Astrid Lindgren. Her first book, Waffle Hearts, won France's Prix Sorcieres and the Dutch Zilveren Griffel, and was shortlisted for the Marsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation. Waffle Hearts has been translated into 26 different languages, was made into a popular children's television series, and has been performed on stage. Astrid the Unstoppable is Maria's second novel, and won the prestigious Brage Prize for best children's book and the Norwegian Critics' Prize. It has been sold to 19 countries and made into a theatre production. Maria lives in Norway.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
240 pages
Interest Age: From 8 years

Author

Maria Parr
More books by Maria Parr

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

2nd October 2014

ISBN

9781406347906


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****