Waffle Hearts by Maria Parr
  

Synopsis

Waffle Hearts by Maria Parr

A deliciously funny story of friendship and family, full of laugh-out-loud adventures and first experiences of death and loss. Shortlisted for the Marsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation, Maria Parr's acclaimed debut novel will delight fans of Pippi Longstocking, and is simultaneously funny and hair-raising ...strong in its sense of place and community, never shying away from the joys and difficulties of friendship, and profound loss (Book Trust). Nine-year-olds Trille and Lena are neighbours and best friends - at least, Trille thinks that Lena is his best friend, despite the escapades into which she regularly drags him. In the wonderful village of Mathildewick Cove they have plenty of time to re-enact the story of Noah's Ark (or Noah's Shark, as Lena calls it), enjoy the beginning of summer celebrations with their families and even advertise for a new dad for Lena. Trille and Lena will make exciting companions for young readers as they share their fun-filled antics, as well as some important understandings of family and friendship.

Reviews

Perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking ... a heartbreaking, heartmaking, hilariously funny tale . . an honest, sensitive exploration of death, loss and grief ... bold and brilliant. playingbythebook.net This really is a tremendous book, with everything I could hope for in a book to share with my children

one that combines humour and the carefree innocence and antics of childhood that are full of fun and laughter... As well as the humour there is pathos too, particularly when Auntie Granny dies. Trille's deep sadness can be felt as he tries to understand and come to terms with her death. Parr approaches this loss with great compassion and understanding. A truly enchanting book that is sure to become a firm favourite with children Outside/In World Meet Lena Lid, Norway s very own answer to Pippi Longstocking

About the Author

Maria Parr is a talented young Norwegian writer who has won the Brage Prize, the Critics' Award, the Zilveren Griffel and the Prix Sorcieres. She has a Master's degree in Nordic languages and literature and is a high school teacher. She lives in Norway. Guy Puzey grew up in the Highlands of Scotland, just a short swim away from Norway. He began translating Norwegian literature in 2006, having studied the language at the University of Edinburgh. In 2011 he went on to complete a doctorate on Italian and Norwegian language policy. He works at the University as a course organizer and researcher, and has taught a number of courses including Scandinavian linguistic history, children's literature and literary translation.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
240 pages
Interest Age: From 8

Author

Maria Parr
More books by Maria Parr

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

2nd October 2014

ISBN

9781406347906


It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools