Sir Scaly Pants the Dragon Knight by John Kelly


Sir Scaly Pants the Dragon Knight by John Kelly

When a ghastly giant comes crashing through the Kingdom one day, the townsfolk fear for their lives. He's knocking down the buildings! He's breathing his stinky breath all over the place! He's even picking giant bogeys out of his giant nose - he must be stopped! So the King decrees that ALL knights be sent to slay the giant - and whoever succeeds will be knighted BRAVEST IN THE LAND. Enter Sir Scaly Pants (the most unusual knight around) and his trusty steed Guinevere (he most unfit horse around) Will this unlikely duo manage to defeat the greedy, grimy giant? You bet they will! A wildly funny tale of good versus bad perfect for fans of Jonny Duddle.

About the Author

John Kelly is an illustrator, writer and designer who has worked for Scholastic, Simon & Schuster, Aardman animation, and others. He has been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal twice (Guess Who's Coming For Dinner and Scoop!). This is John's second picture book for Bloomsbury - The Beastly Pirates was his first.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


32 pages


John Kelly
More books by John Kelly


Publication date

24th September 2015



I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

Lovereading 4 schools