The Terrible Two by Mac Barnett, Jory John


The Terrible Two by Mac Barnett, Jory John

In The Terrible Two, bestselling authors and friends Jory John and Mac Barnett have created a series that has its roots in classic middle-grade literature yet feels fresh and daring at the same time!


This is another great book for fans of Wimpy Kid, Big Nate and the World According to Norm. Readers will love Miles and the nerdy class helper Niles as they spar and snipe - and eventually work together. Jane Howarth, Birmingham Mail Funny books that transcend silliness and are written with skill are rare. But The Terrible Two by the award-winning American authors Jory John and Mac Barnett, is rich in deadpan jokes and sprightly turns of phrase. Miles hopes to maintain his reputation as a prankster in his new school but arrives to find himself already out-pranked. A war of practical jokes ensues, until he and his adversary collaborate. Smartly observant of school life, and illustrated by Kevin Cornell in a retro comic-book style, it is ideal for reading aloud.

.04.15 a tale that's loaded with cunning high jinks, neat pieces of outwitting, some great gags and more than you ever wanted to know about cows.'FT Life & Arts - 07.03.15

Tempt those teens still addicted to Wimpy Kid with something slightly more challenging; it's written in the first person, which allows a more sophisticated level of humour and the two likeable protagonists are refreshingly three-dimensional. Teach Secondary, April 2015

About the Author

Mac Barnett is a New York Times bestselling author of books for children, including Extra Yarn, which won a 2013 Caldecott Honor, and Battle Bunny. Jory John is a writer, editor, and journalist. He is coauthor of the bestselling All My Friends Are Dead. Kevin Cornell is the illustrator of many children's books, including Count the Monkeys and Mustache!, both by Mac Barnett.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


224 pages


Mac Barnett, Jory John
More books by Mac Barnett, Jory John


Publication date

3rd March 2015



It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

Lovereading 4 schools