The Terrible Two by Mac Barnett, Jory John
  

The Terrible Two

Written by Mac Barnett, Jory John
Illustrated by Kevin Cornell

RRP £6.99

Synopsis

The Terrible Two by Mac Barnett, Jory John

Miles Murphy had it made. He lived in a great town near the ocean, he had two best friends, and, most importantly, he had a reputation for being his town's best prankster. All of which explains why he's not happy to be moving to Yawnee Valley, a sleepy town that's famous for one thing and one thing only: cows. Worse than that, Miles quickly discovers that Yawnee Valley already has a prankster, and a great one. If Miles is going to take the title from this mystery kid, he is going to have to raise his game. It's prankster against prankster in an epic war of trickery, until the two finally decide to join forces in order to pull off the biggest prank ever seen: a prank so huge it would make the members of the International Order of Disorder (a loose confederacy of pranksters that flourished a couple of centuries ago) proud. In The Terrible two, bestselling authors and friends Jory John and Mac Barnett have walked an impressive tightrope: They've created a series that has its roots in classic middle-grade literature yet feels fresh and daring at the same time.

Reviews

This is another great book for fans of Wimpy Kid, Big Nate and the World According to Norm. Readers will love Miles and the nerdy class helper Niles as they spar and snipe - and eventually work together. Jane Howarth, Birmingham Mail Funny books that transcend silliness and are written with skill are rare. But The Terrible Two by the award-winning American authors Jory John and Mac Barnett, is rich in deadpan jokes and sprightly turns of phrase. Miles hopes to maintain his reputation as a prankster in his new school but arrives to find himself already out-pranked. A war of practical jokes ensues, until he and his adversary collaborate. Smartly observant of school life, and illustrated by Kevin Cornell in a retro comic-book style, it is ideal for reading aloud.

.04.15 a tale that's loaded with cunning high jinks, neat pieces of outwitting, some great gags and more than you ever wanted to know about cows.'FT Life & Arts - 07.03.15

Tempt those teens still addicted to Wimpy Kid with something slightly more challenging; it's written in the first person, which allows a more sophisticated level of humour and the two likeable protagonists are refreshingly three-dimensional. Teach Secondary, April 2015

About the Author

Mac Barnett is a New York Times bestselling author of books for children, including Extra Yarn, which won a 2013 Caldecott Honor, and Battle Bunny. Jory John is a writer, editor, and journalist. He is coauthor of the bestselling All My Friends Are Dead. Kevin Cornell is the illustrator of many children's books, including Count the Monkeys and Mustache!, both by Mac Barnett.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
224 pages

Author

Mac Barnett, Jory John
More books by Mac Barnett, Jory John

Publisher

Harry N. Abrams, Inc. an imprint of Abrams

Publication date

1st February 2015

ISBN

9781419716676


I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****