Fandango Stew by David Davis


Fandango Stew by David Davis

No money? No problem! In this sunny, funny western-style take on the famous folktale Stone Soup, two penniless but wily vaqueros (cowboys) trick a whole town into cooking a giant pot of stew for everyone to share. David Davis's deliciously colourful language and Ben Galbraith's delightful illustrations make this picture book a tasty confection.

About the Author

David Davis is an active presenter at schools, conferences, and libraries. He has written more than a dozen picture books, including Green Mother Goose (Sterling), Texas Zeke and the Longhorn, Librarian's Night Before Christmas, Redneck Night Before Christmas, Ten Redneck Babies, and Jazz Cats (all Pelican). These last two titles were both named to the Children's Choice Top 100 list. Visit David at Ben Galbraith lives in Sydney, Australia, where he works as a packaging designer. Fandango Stew is the third picture book Ben has illustrated. He is the author and illustrator of The Three Fishing Brothers Gruff (Hachette), which was praised by Publishers Weekly: Working very much in the vein of Lane Smith, Galbraith produces a book both visually hip and handsome. Visit Ben at

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


32 pages
Interest Age: 4-8


David Davis
More books by David Davis


Publication date

12th November 2015



We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

Lovereading 4 schools