At Somerton: Secrets & Sapphires by Leila Rasheed
  

At Somerton: Secrets & Sapphires

Written by Leila Rasheed
Illustrated by

11+ readers   13+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A sweeping new period drama from Leila Rasheed.

Think Downton Abbey meets Gossip Girl, as the upstairs-downstairs world of a glamourous country house collides with scandal and intrigue.

Synopsis

At Somerton: Secrets & Sapphires by Leila Rasheed

One house, two worlds, dark secrets...The year is 1910. For the past decade, the Averley family has lived a life of luxury in India, but now they must return to Lord Averley's ancestral estate, the sprawling, majestically beautiful Somerton Court. As the household staff hastily prepare for the family's arrival, they receive shocking news: Lord Averley is bringing back a fiancee with three children of her own, and on top of that, there are rumours of a terrible scandal surrounding Lord Averley's resignation as Lieutenant Governor of Bengal. As the family settles in, tensions arise both upstairs and downstairs. Lady Ada must choose between her honour and her heart, Sebastian must fend off ruinous threats from a former servant (and lover...) and gentle housemaid Rose will find herself at the centre of a scandal so enormous it could destroy the Averleys' reputation forever. With plenty of scheming, scandal and sauciness, SECRETS & SAPPHIRES is a thrilling period-drama perfect for fans of Jilly Cooper and DOWNTON ABBEY.

About the Author

Leila Rasheed

Lila Rasheed: "I am half Bangladeshi and half English, was brought up in Libya and have lived in Belgium, Italy and Malaysia. I’ve always written prose, but began writing poetry relatively recently, following encouragement from David Morley and the teachers on the MA in Writing at Warwick. A number of my poems refer to ancient myth, which I see as a ‘neutral space’ because of its remoteness and universality, where questions of nationality, culture and parochial allegiance can be sidestepped in favour of ideas I find more meaningful. A selection of my poems is available in the Heaventree New Poets series. Other things I can do include: make tiramisu, order four bread rolls in Danish, and open a beer bottle with my teeth."

Her first novel was Chips, Beans and Limousines: The Fantastic Diary of Bathsheba Clarice De Trop! Followed by two further tales of Bathsheba, Socks, Shocks and Secrets and Doughnuts, Dreams and Drama Queens and a Young Adult novel called The World Turned Upside Down, which was commissioned by the Stratford Upon Avon Literary Festival.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
304 pages

Author

Leila Rasheed
More books by Leila Rasheed

Author's Website

leilarasheed.com/

Publisher

Hot Key Books

Publication date

1st January 2013

ISBN

9781471401404

Categories

Publisher Profile

Hot Key Books is an imprint of Hot Key

logo Hot Key Books, a division of Bonnier Publishing, publish stand out, quality fiction, for 9 – 19 year olds, print and digital that people like to talk about. If you are looking for something a little bit different from your books, something a little bit special then Hot Key Books may well have just what you want.

Publisher's Website

https://www.hotkeybooks.com

Publisher's Blog

hotkeyblog.wordpress.com


I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools