Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland
  

Synopsis

Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

A bittersweet, funny, sad story of friendship, first love, and heartache, all rolled into one spellbinding tale, from a stunning debut novelist. For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and E. Lockhart. Henry Page, a hopeless romantic and film buff, is smitten as soon as Grace Town walks into his classroom. But Grace - who looks in need of a good bath, is dressed in guy's clothing, and walks with a cane - is unlike any leading lady he's ever obsessed over. And when Henry and Grace are both offered positions as editors of their high school newspaper, the mystery of Grace begins to captivate him. Why does she visit a graveyard every afternoon? What secret does she keep locked away in her bedroom? Above all, why is Grace Town so deeply sad? Before he knows it, Henry is sure that he is the one to unlock her happiness. But Grace is capricious, changeable, infuriating, and, above all, damaged. Henry will need to be the strongest he has ever been to survive this particular love story.

Reviews

Hot Key's big debut, pitched as a bittersweet, spellbinding tale of first love for fans of John Green. The Bookseller Irresistible, romantic and heartbreaking The Bookseller A really thought-provoking book Holly Bourne, author of What's A Girl Gotta Do? Destined to be a hit with all young romantics, it will soon be joining John Green, Jennifer Niven, Rainbow Rowell and Jandy Nelson on the shelves of many young adults Reading Zone If you want to read something about first love and falling for someone completely unexpected, this book is perfect for you sugarscape.com This is a very interesting story, with wonderful dialogue publishersweekly.com A really good debut with it's foot truly in the door of the world of YA Rosie Freckles Reads Oh wow, did I fly through it, and did I love it - YES! Do you know why I loved it because it was the first time in a long time that I stayed up to finish it. I was tired in the morning but it was a price I was willing to pay Never Judge a Book by its Cover Our Chemical Hearts is a poignant YA story of friendship, romance, heartbreak and tragedy, which refreshingly doesn't promise a neatly bow-tied ending. It might not be a typical love-at-first-sight story but it is a love story. Well , as Henry himself says, Kind of Culture Fly

About the Author

The child of Jehovah's Witnesses, Krystal was forbidden from ever reading Harry Potter, a rule she broke at the age of 10 when she stole a copy from the local library and smuggled it into her bedroom. She's been an avid reader ever since. Since escaping Townsville in 2011, Krystal has lived in Sydney and Amsterdam where she worked as a magazine editor and foreign correspondent for Hijacked, one of Australia's largest youth culture websites. She has also edited Sydney's Blitz magazine, and was shortlisted for the Queensland Young Writers Award. OUR CHEMICAL HEARTS, Krystal's debut novel, was published to great acclaim. A Semi Definitive List of Worst Nightmares is her second novel. Follow Krystal at krystalsutherland.com or on Twitter: @km_sutherland

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
320 pages
Interest Age: From 16

Author

Krystal Sutherland
More books by Krystal Sutherland

Publisher

Hot Key Books

Publication date

4th October 2016

ISBN

9781471405839

Publisher Profile

Hot Key Books is an imprint of Hot Key

logo Hot Key Books, a division of Bonnier Publishing, publish stand out, quality fiction, for 9 – 19 year olds, print and digital that people like to talk about. If you are looking for something a little bit different from your books, something a little bit special then Hot Key Books may well have just what you want.

Publisher's Website

https://www.hotkeybooks.com

Publisher's Blog

hotkeyblog.wordpress.com


It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools