Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland
  

Synopsis

Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

A bittersweet, funny, sad story of friendship, first love, and heartache, all rolled into one spellbinding tale, from a stunning debut novelist. For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and E. Lockhart. Henry Page, a hopeless romantic and film buff, is smitten as soon as Grace Town walks into his classroom. But Grace - who looks in need of a good bath, is dressed in guy's clothing, and walks with a cane - is unlike any leading lady he's ever obsessed over. And when Henry and Grace are both offered positions as editors of their high school newspaper, the mystery of Grace begins to captivate him. Why does she visit a graveyard every afternoon? What secret does she keep locked away in her bedroom? Above all, why is Grace Town so deeply sad? Before he knows it, Henry is sure that he is the one to unlock her happiness. But Grace is capricious, changeable, infuriating, and, above all, damaged. Henry will need to be the strongest he has ever been to survive this particular love story.

Reviews

Hot Key's big debut, pitched as a bittersweet, spellbinding tale of first love for fans of John Green. The Bookseller Irresistible, romantic and heartbreaking The Bookseller A really thought-provoking book Holly Bourne, author of What's A Girl Gotta Do? Destined to be a hit with all young romantics, it will soon be joining John Green, Jennifer Niven, Rainbow Rowell and Jandy Nelson on the shelves of many young adults Reading Zone If you want to read something about first love and falling for someone completely unexpected, this book is perfect for you sugarscape.com This is a very interesting story, with wonderful dialogue publishersweekly.com A really good debut with it's foot truly in the door of the world of YA Rosie Freckles Reads

About the Author

Krystal Sutherland was born in 1990 in Australia. The child of Jehovah's Witnesses, she was forbidden from ever reading Harry Potter, a rule she broke at the age of 10 when she stole a copy from the local library and smuggled it into her bedroom. She's been an avid reader ever since. Since escaping Townsville in 2011, Krystal has lived in Sydney and Amsterdam where she worked as a magazine editor and foreign correspondent for Hijacked, one of Australia's largest youth culture websites. She has also edited Sydney's Blitz magazine, and was shortlisted for the Queensland Young Writers Award. OUR CHEMICAL HEARTS is her debut novel. Follow Krystal at krystalsutherland.com or on Twitter: @km_sutherland

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
320 pages
Interest Age: From 16

Author

Krystal Sutherland
More books by Krystal Sutherland

Publisher

Publication date

4th October 2016

ISBN

9781471405839

Publisher Profile

Hot Key Books is an imprint of Hot Key

logo Hot Key Books, a division of Bonnier Publishing, publish stand out, quality fiction, for 9 – 19 year olds, print and digital that people like to talk about. If you are looking for something a little bit different from your books, something a little bit special then Hot Key Books may well have just what you want.

Publisher's Website

https://www.hotkeybooks.com

Publisher's Blog

hotkeyblog.wordpress.com


I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools