The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel


The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel

The first novel in a thrilling dystopian duology, perfect for fans of Divergent, The Maze Runner and the Delirium series. What would you kill for? After a brutal nuclear war, our country was decimated. A new nation of survivors lives within a fenced community. No one knows what lies beyond the fence; only that to be cast outside it is a fate worse than death. Two families fought to govern our new society. Now, peace and control are maintained by marrying the daughters of the losing faction to the sons of the winning side in a yearly ceremony. This year, it's my turn. My name is Ivy Westfall, and my mission is simple: to kill Bishop Lattimer, the president's son and my soon-to-be husband, and return the Westfall family to power. I never expected that my new husband would be the one person in the world to truly understand me. But I can't falter now - I am the only one who can restore the Westfall legacy. Bishop must die. And I must be the one to kill him...


[The Book of Ivy] has immediacy, and there's justification for plenty of teenage angst. Ivy is forced to question her family's motivations as Bishop keeps surprising her, and she surprises herself with her growing feelings for him. An intriguing start with a brave heroine Kirkus Reviews Thought-provoking, poignant, and sexy! Readers will burn the midnight oil to finish The Book of Ivy and fall asleep with the name Bishop Lattimer on their lips The Book of Ivy has every ingredient you look for in an epic novel: from the spine-tingling plot and exhilarating characters, to every entrancing word penned by Amy Engel Insightful Mind Reviews With her debut, Amy Engel has pulled off one of the best dystopian romances that I have ever read. It was impossible to put down

-to-develop relationship is believable, and both Ivy and Bishop are easy to relate to. Waiting anxiously for Book 2! Magna Maniac Cafe 'Well-developed characters and intricate world-building, combined with complex relationships, political corruption, and betrayal, leave readers begging for the second book in this series.

'The novel is less about the devastation of the world and intriguingly more about the people left behind. The promise of a second book will excite potential readers.'

'There were points in which I found myself clutching the covers, shaking the pages in a little disbelief and a little rage. Overall, if you're looking for a suspenseful book with a great, and at times almost heart-wrenching romance, don't miss The Book of Ivy.'


About the Author

Amy Engel is the author of the YA novels THE BOOK OF IVY and THE REVOLUTION OF IVY. She lives in Missouri with her family. THE ROANOKE GIRLS is her first novel for adults.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


304 pages


Amy Engel
More books by Amy Engel


Publication date

27th November 2015



Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

Lovereading 4 schools