Love and Other Man-Made Disasters by Nicola Doherty
  

Love and Other Man-Made Disasters

Written by Nicola Doherty
Illustrated by

Synopsis

Love and Other Man-Made Disasters by Nicola Doherty

A contemporary teen romance by Irish author, Nicola Doherty, about facing your fears and falling in love. A story with humour and heart, this book is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Holly Smale and Stephanie Perkins.Juno is scared of a lot of things. Climate change, urban foxes, zombies - the usual. So when she goes on a skiing holiday with her mum's adrenaline-mad new husband and his tearaway twins, she doesn't hold much hope of surviving. Then she meets Boy. Gruff, hairy and thrill-seeking, he's everything Juno doesn't like. Or is he? Juno's about to discover there's nothing more scary than falling in love.

Reviews

The story is told with a light touch, with plenty of humour and engaging dialogue. It is a warm hearted novel which will appeal to many teenage girls * School Librarian * If I had a teenage daughter this is exactly the sort of book I would want her to curl up with. Sweet, warm, funny (VERY funny) and real, it's a brilliant portrait of the agonies of being a teenager, a stepdaughter and an outsider. As Juno hurtles headlong into romance on her first skiing holiday and takes her first tentative steps onto the slippery slope of adulthood, you can't help but love her and wish she was your friend. Utterly delightful. * Veronica Henry * Irish author Doherty has previously written for adults but her teen voice is absolutely spot-on -- she's a very welcome addition to the YA romantic-comedy scene * Inis * LOVE AND OTHER MAN-MADE DISASTERS was a book that had me hooked, and I only put it down for the few hours of sleep I had. * Much Loved Books * This one is a definite 4/5, with realistic characters, a unique voice and a enthralling plot- you can't go wrong picking it up for a summer read. * TeenBookHoots * A fantastic book by Nicola, that was a complete page-turner and young adults and grown-ups alike will surely enjoy every minute of it. * Whispering Stories * If I had a teenage daughter this is exactly the sort of book I would want her to curl up with. Sweet, warm, funny (VERY funny) and real, it's a brilliant portrait of the agonies of being a teenager, a stepdaughter and an outsider. As Juno hurtles headlong into romance on her first skiing holiday and takes her first tentative steps onto the slippery slope of adulthood, you can't help but love her and wish she was your friend. Utterly delightful. * Veronica Henry, author of HOW TO FIND LOVE IN A BOOK SHOP * A fun contemporary romance about falling in love and facing your fears ... a great holiday read with lots of laugh out loud moments * South Wales Evening Post *

About the Author

Nicola grew up in Monkstown, Co. Dublin before moving to London after university. She worked in publishing for several years before writing her first book, THE OUT OF OFFICE GIRL, which was shortlisted for the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year 2013. Her second book, IF I COULD TURN BACK TIME, was published by Headline in 2014 and her third book GIRLS ON TOUR is available as a series of ebook shorts and in print. Nicola lives in Highbury, north London, with her husband and no cats (yet).Visit Nicola's website at nicoladohertybooks.com, follow her on Twitter @nicoladoherty_ and like her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/NicolaDohertyBooks.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
240 pages

Author

Nicola Doherty
More books by Nicola Doherty

Publisher

Orion Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group

Publication date

2nd June 2016

ISBN

9781510100374


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****