Love and Other Man-Made Disasters by Nicola Doherty
  

Love and Other Man-Made Disasters

Written by Nicola Doherty
Illustrated by

RRP £6.99

Synopsis

Love and Other Man-Made Disasters by Nicola Doherty

A contemporary teen romance by Irish author, Nicola Doherty, about facing your fears and falling in love. A story with humour and heart, this book is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Holly Smale and Stephanie Perkins. Juno is scared of a lot of things. Climate change, urban foxes, zombies - the usual. So when she goes on a skiing holiday with her mum's adrenaline-mad new husband and his tearaway twins, she doesn't hold much hope of surviving. Then she meets Boy. Gruff, hairy and thrill-seeking, he's everything Juno doesn't like. Or is he? Juno's about to discover there's nothing more scary than falling in love.

Reviews

A fun contemporary romance about falling in love and facing your fears ... a great holiday read with lots of laugh out loud moments South Wales Evening Post If I had a teenage daughter this is exactly the sort of book I would want her to curl up with. Sweet, warm, funny (VERY funny) and real, it's a brilliant portrait of the agonies of being a teenager, a stepdaughter and an outsider. As Juno hurtles headlong into romance on her first skiing holiday and takes her first tentative steps onto the slippery slope of adulthood, you can't help but love her and wish she was your friend. Utterly delightful. Veronica Henry, author of HOW TO FIND LOVE IN A BOOK SHOP A fantastic book by Nicola, that was a complete page-turner and young adults and grown-ups alike will surely enjoy every minute of it. Whispering Stories This one is a definite 4/5, with realistic characters, a unique voice and a enthralling plot- you can't go wrong picking it up for a summer read. TeenBookHoots LOVE AND OTHER MAN-MADE DISASTERS was a book that had me hooked, and I only put it down for the few hours of sleep I had. Much Loved Books Irish author Doherty has previously written for adults but her teen voice is absolutely spot-on -- she's a very welcome addition to the YA romantic-comedy scene Inis The story is told with a light touch, with plenty of humour and engaging dialogue. It is a warm hearted novel which will appeal to many teenage girls School Librarian If I had a teenage daughter this is exactly the sort of book I would want her to curl up with. Sweet, warm, funny (VERY funny) and real, it's a brilliant portrait of the agonies of being a teenager, a stepdaughter and an outsider. As Juno hurtles headlong into romance on her first skiing holiday and takes her first tentative steps onto the slippery slope of adulthood, you can't help but love her and wish she was your friend. Utterly delightful. Veronica Henry

About the Author

Nicola grew up in Monkstown, Co. Dublin before moving to London after university. She worked in publishing for several years before writing her first book, THE OUT OF OFFICE GIRL, which was shortlisted for the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year 2013. Her second book, IF I COULD TURN BACK TIME, was published by Headline in 2014 and her third book GIRLS ON TOUR is available as a series of ebook shorts and in print. Nicola lives in Highbury, north London, with her husband and no cats (yet). Visit Nicola's website at nicoladohertybooks.com, follow her on Twitter @nicoladoherty_ and like her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/NicolaDohertyBooks.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
240 pages
Interest Age: From 12

Author

Nicola Doherty
More books by Nicola Doherty

Publisher

Orion Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group

Publication date

2nd June 2016

ISBN

9781510100374


LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools