So, You Want to be a Chef? How to Get Started in the World of Culinary Arts by J.M. Bedell

So, You Want to be a Chef? How to Get Started in the World of Culinary Arts

Written by J.M. Bedell
Illustrated by
Part of the Be What You Want Series


So, You Want to be a Chef? How to Get Started in the World of Culinary Arts by J.M. Bedell

Designed to inspire creative expression and help aspiring chefs achieve their dreams, So, You Want to Be a Chef?defines the pathways fine dining and cuisine professions, from being a sous chef, pastry chef, or chef de cuisine, to becoming a caterer or restaurateur and more. In addition to tips from professionals in the industry, So, You Want to Be a Chef?includes inspiring stories from successful young cooks and a full list of resources to help you on your way to chefdom.


Chock-full of interviews with successful chefs, both renowned and unknown; sidebars with fun factoids...; and advice for aspiring chefs, this title will be a hit among teens who are serious about a career in the culinary arts. -- Lindsay Klemas School Library Journal Aimed at individuals with a particular passion for food, this entry into the Be What You Want series offers both practical advice and inspiration regarding carving out a career in the food industry...Fans of Top Chef Junior and Spatulatta will savor this. -- Randall Enos Booklist

About the Author

J.M. Bedell spent her childhood daydreaming in hayfields, talking to cows, and finding her heroes between the pages of books. She is a full-time writer of historical fiction and nonfiction for children. She received her MFA in creative writing from Hamline University in Minnesota. She lives with her husband and two Siberian huskies in Portland, Oregon. Visit her at

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


224 pages


J.M. Bedell
More books by J.M. Bedell


Publication date

5th December 2013



Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

Lovereading 4 schools