So, You Want to be a Chef? How to Get Started in the World of Culinary Arts by J.M. Bedell
  

So, You Want to be a Chef? How to Get Started in the World of Culinary Arts

Written by J.M. Bedell
Illustrated by
Part of the Be What You Want Series

Synopsis

So, You Want to be a Chef? How to Get Started in the World of Culinary Arts by J.M. Bedell

Designed to inspire creative expression and help aspiring chefs achieve their dreams, So, You Want to Be a Chef?defines the pathways fine dining and cuisine professions, from being a sous chef, pastry chef, or chef de cuisine, to becoming a caterer or restaurateur and more. In addition to tips from professionals in the industry, So, You Want to Be a Chef?includes inspiring stories from successful young cooks and a full list of resources to help you on your way to chefdom.

Reviews

Chock-full of interviews with successful chefs, both renowned and unknown; sidebars with fun factoids...; and advice for aspiring chefs, this title will be a hit among teens who are serious about a career in the culinary arts. -- Lindsay Klemas School Library Journal Aimed at individuals with a particular passion for food, this entry into the Be What You Want series offers both practical advice and inspiration regarding carving out a career in the food industry...Fans of Top Chef Junior and Spatulatta will savor this. -- Randall Enos Booklist

About the Author

J.M. Bedell spent her childhood daydreaming in hayfields, talking to cows, and finding her heroes between the pages of books. She is a full-time writer of historical fiction and nonfiction for children. She received her MFA in creative writing from Hamline University in Minnesota. She lives with her husband and two Siberian huskies in Portland, Oregon. Visit her at JMBedell.com.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
224 pages

Author

J.M. Bedell
More books by J.M. Bedell

Publisher

Publication date

5th December 2013

ISBN

9781582704364


I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools