Wednesday by Anne Bertier
  

Synopsis

Wednesday by Anne Bertier

Wednesday is a sweet story about two best friends, Little Round and Big Square. But it's also about what it is to really play imaginatively with another. Every Wednesday, our two friends get together to play. Sometimes they have some tough moments, like all true friends, but they mostly have the best time that two friends can ever have together! Illustrated in a strong, two-color graphic style, Wednesday has strong appeal for the youngest readers as well as for parents and teachers. Anne Bertier has been writing and illustrating children's books since 1995. She studied literature while attending mime courses at the Sylvia Monfort School. Her particular interests in creating art are composition and balance.

Reviews

In the tradition of Leo Lionni's Little Blue and Little Yellow (1959), this French import uses geometric shapes, color and size to explore compatibility and conflict ... Emotionally, the ups and downs of a day with a friend will ring true for young children. Bertier presents a marvelous springboard for using formal elements to create individual or collaborative narratives. -- STARRED REVIEW, Kirkus Reviews ...French artist's Bertier's meditation on geometrical shapes has a timeless feel. The books design and printing, in pure hues on creamy matte pages, make it a pleasing object in and of itself...Cheery, upbeat writing and pared down subject matter make it a fine choice for a younger audience, who will enjoy picking out the forms in each spread--and then, perhaps, experimenting on their own with paper and scissors. -- Publisher's Weekly Thanks to splendiferously discerning indie publisher Enchanted Lion Books (whose inspiring founder Claudia Z. Bedrick is also an accomplished translator), this is something completely original ... so much so that maybe I can be allowed at least a single O-M-G. -- Book Dragon Children will immediately relate to both the square and the circle. They may not have faces, but they convey emotions clearly on the page from anger to exuberance to friendship. Strong and vibrant, this picture book translated from the French, is a great pick for units on friendship or shapes. Appropriate for ages 3-5. -- Waking Brain Cells friendships aren't always easy. Often it is in compromise that a new reality is found. Anne Bernier uses two vibrant colors , strong graphic detail, and understated emotion to help young listeners open a discussion about conflict and cooperation. imaginative and entertaining, you won't want to miss it. Now get out the paper and scissors and let their imaginations soar! -- Sal's Fiction Addiction The story is at once simple in its playfulness and a beautiful allegory for the combinatorial nature of creativity and thought itself, for the way we transform the building blocks we assemble by way of being alive and awake to the world -- impressions, experiences, memories, influences -- into new combinations that we call our own ideas. -- Brain Pickings

About the Author

Anne Bertier: Anne Bertier has been writing and illustrating children's books since 1995. She studied literature while attending mime courses at the Sylvia Monfort School. Her particular interests in creating art are composition and balance.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
48 pages
Interest Age: From 3

Author

Anne Bertier
More books by Anne Bertier

Publisher

Enchanted Lion Books

Publication date

25th September 2014

ISBN

9781592701520


I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools