Leave Me Alone by Vera Brosgol
  

Synopsis

Leave Me Alone by Vera Brosgol

A grandmother leaves her tiny home and her very big family and journeys to the moon and beyond to find peace and quiet to finish her knitting. Along the way, she encounters ravenous bears, obnoxious goats, and even hordes of aliens! But nothing stops grandma from accomplishing her goal - knitting sweaters for her many grandchildren to keep them warm and toasty for the coming winter. This slyly clever and unexpectedly funny modern folktale is perfect for fans of Extra Yarn and is certain to warm even the coldest of hearts.

Reviews

This book reads aloud beautifully to large groups, and should have them rolling in the aisles. Funny is hard

About the Author

Vera Brosgol was born in Moscow, Russia, in 1984 and moved to the United States when she was five. Her first graphic novel, Anya's Ghost, was published in 2011 by First Second. Her picture book Leave Me Alone! was a 2017 Caldecott Honor book. She drew storyboards for the animated films Coraline, ParaNorman, and The Boxtrolls. She lives in Portland, Oregon, and at last count has knit twenty-two sweaters.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
40 pages

Author

Vera Brosgol
More books by Vera Brosgol

Publisher

First Second an imprint of Roaring Brook Press

Publication date

5th October 2016

ISBN

9781626724419


We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools