Leave Me Alone by Vera Brosgol


Leave Me Alone by Vera Brosgol

A grandmother leaves her tiny home and her very big family and journeys to the moon and beyond to find peace and quiet to finish her knitting. Along the way, she encounters ravenous bears, obnoxious goats, and even hordes of aliens! But nothing stops grandma from accomplishing her goal - knitting sweaters for her many grandchildren to keep them warm and toasty for the coming winter. This slyly clever and unexpectedly funny modern folktale is perfect for fans of Extra Yarn and is certain to warm even the coldest of hearts.


Anyone who has yearned for peace and quiet and those who enjoy pestering such a person will appreciate the plight of the crotchety heroine of Leave Me Alone, a picture book by Vera Brosgol that hilariously mingles elements both folkloric and intergalactic . . . The clean lines and bright colors of Ms. Brosgol's pictures convey good cheer throughout, despite the yelling, in this snugly knitted amusement for 4- to 8-year-olds. The Wall Street Journal

Brosgol is a master . . . This offbeat tale will please readers who appreciate subtle humor, especially those who crave some time alone. School Library Journal, starred review

Brosgol s cartooning delivers laughs throughout . . . The fizzy collision of old-fashioned fairy tale elements with space-age physics is delightful, and even the most extroverted readers will recognize that sometimes you just need a little space. Publisher's Weekly, starred review

Brosgol s folkloric tale is full of humor and repetition, making it a good choice to read aloud . . . Understatedly funny, just like the Eastern European folk tales on whose shoulders it stands. Kirkus Reviews

An impressive picture book debut . . . Repetition and patterned storytelling ground the out-of-this-world elements for a thoroughly entertaining adventure. Horn Book

Brosgol infuses her fairy tale like story with a hefty dose of humor, thanks to her fantastic page turns and comedic timing . . . As cozy as a new sweater. Booklist

With clever trips to the moon and through worm holes, Vera Brosgol brings a fresh new perspective to the world of children's books. Dan Santat, The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend

A cranky, funny, skillful, gentle, beautiful beautiful book. Jon Klassen, I Want My Hat Back

About the Author

Vera Brosgol was born in Moscow, Russia, in 1984 and moved to the United States when she was five. Her first graphic novel, Anya's Ghost, was published in 2011 by First Second. She drew storyboards for the animated films Coraline, ParaNorman, and The Boxtrolls. She lives in Portland, Oregon, and at last count has knit twenty-two sweaters.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


40 pages


Vera Brosgol
More books by Vera Brosgol


Publication date

10th October 2016



I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading 4 schools