Leave Me Alone by Vera Brosgol
  

Leave Me Alone

Written by Vera Brosgol
Illustrated by

Synopsis

Leave Me Alone by Vera Brosgol

A grandmother leaves her tiny home and her very big family and journeys to the moon and beyond to find peace and quiet to finish her knitting. Along the way, she encounters ravenous bears, obnoxious goats, and even hordes of aliens! But nothing stops grandma from accomplishing her goal - knitting sweaters for her many grandchildren to keep them warm and toasty for the coming winter. This slyly clever and unexpectedly funny modern folktale is perfect for fans of Extra Yarn and is certain to warm even the coldest of hearts.

Reviews

This book reads aloud beautifully to large groups, and should have them rolling in the aisles. Funny is hard

Displaying a firm command of the picture book format and a strong sense of comic timing, Leave Me Alone! [is] so well-executed, it feels almost unfair that this is Brosgol's first foray into picture books. --The Huffington Post, Best Picture Books of 2016

Anyone who has yearned for peace and quiet--and those who enjoy pestering such a person--will appreciate the plight of the crotchety heroine of Leave Me Alone, a picture book by Vera Brosgol that hilariously mingles elements both folkloric and intergalactic . . . The clean lines and bright colors of Ms. Brosgol's pictures convey good cheer throughout, despite the yelling, in this snugly knitted amusement for 4- to 8-year-olds. --The Wall Street Journal

Brosgol's cartooning delivers laughs throughout . . . The fizzy collision of old-fashioned fairy tale elements with space-age physics is delightful, and even the most extroverted readers will recognize that sometimes you just need a little space. --Publisher's Weekly, starred review

An impressive picture book debut . . . Repetition and patterned storytelling ground the out-of-this-world elements for a thoroughly entertaining adventure. --Horn Book

With clever trips to the moon and through worm holes, Vera Brosgol brings a fresh new perspective to the world of children's books. --Dan Santat, The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend

Brosgol makes it look easy. NPR, Best Books of 2016

Displaying a firm command of the picture book format and a strong sense of comic timing, Leave Me Alone! [is] so well-executed, it feels almost unfair that this is Brosgol s first foray into picture books. The Huffington Post, Best Picture Books of 2016

Anyone who has yearned for peace and quiet and those who enjoy pestering such a person will appreciate the plight of the crotchety heroine of Leave Me Alone, a picture book by Vera Brosgol that hilariously mingles elements both folkloric and intergalactic . . . The clean lines and bright colors of Ms. Brosgol's pictures convey good cheer throughout, despite the yelling, in this snugly knitted amusement for 4- to 8-year-olds. The Wall Street Journal

Brosgol s cartooning delivers laughs throughout . . . The fizzy collision of old-fashioned fairy tale elements with space-age physics is delightful, and even the most extroverted readers will recognize that sometimes you just need a little space. Publisher's Weekly, starred review

An impressive picture book debut . . . Repetition and patterned storytelling ground the out-of-this-world elements for a thoroughly entertaining adventure. Horn Book

With clever trips to the moon and through worm holes, Vera Brosgol brings a fresh new perspective to the world of children's books. Dan Santat, The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend

Brosgol's clever text manages to feel both classic and ultracontemporary, as do her illustrations . . . Colorful and fun, Leave Me Alone! will be a good addition to any bookshelf, especially for children who like to shout along. The New York Times Book Review

Brosgol is a master . . . This offbeat tale will please readers who appreciate subtle humor, especially those who crave some time alone. School Library Journal, starred review

Brosgol s folkloric tale is full of humor and repetition, making it a good choice to read aloud . . . Understatedly funny, just like the Eastern European folk tales on whose shoulders it stands. Kirkus Reviews

Brosgol infuses her fairy tale like story with a hefty dose of humor, thanks to her fantastic page turns and comedic timing . . . As cozy as a new sweater. Booklist

A cranky, funny, skillful, gentle, beautiful beautiful book. Jon Klassen, I Want My Hat Back

Anyone who has yearned for peace and quiet and those who enjoy pestering such a person will appreciate the plight of the crotchety heroine of Leave Me Alone, a picture book by Vera Brosgol that hilariously mingles elements both folkloric and intergalactic . . . The clean lines and bright colors of Ms. Brosgol's pictures convey good cheer throughout, despite the yelling, in this snugly knitted amusement for 4- to 8-year-olds. The Wall Street Journal

Brosgol s cartooning delivers laughs throughout . . . The fizzy collision of old-fashioned fairy tale elements with space-age physics is delightful, and even the most extroverted readers will recognize that sometimes you just need a little space. Publisher's Weekly, starred review

An impressive picture book debut . . . Repetition and patterned storytelling ground the out-of-this-world elements for a thoroughly entertaining adventure. Horn Book

With clever trips to the moon and through worm holes, Vera Brosgol brings a fresh new perspective to the world of children's books. Dan Santat, The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend

Brosgol is a master . . . This offbeat tale will please readers who appreciate subtle humor, especially those who crave some time alone. School Library Journal, starred review

Brosgol s folkloric tale is full of humor and repetition, making it a good choice to read aloud . . . Understatedly funny, just like the Eastern European folk tales on whose shoulders it stands. Kirkus Reviews

Brosgol infuses her fairy tale like story with a hefty dose of humor, thanks to her fantastic page turns and comedic timing . . . As cozy as a new sweater. Booklist

A cranky, funny, skillful, gentle, beautiful beautiful book. Jon Klassen, I Want My Hat Back

Brosgol s cartooning delivers laughs throughout . . . The fizzy collision of old-fashioned fairy tale elements with space-age physics is delightful, and even the most extroverted readers will recognize that sometimes you just need a little space. Publisher's Weekly, starred review

An impressive picture book debut . . . Repetition and patterned storytelling ground the out-of-this-world elements for a thoroughly entertaining adventure. Horn Book

With clever trips to the moon and through worm holes, Vera Brosgol brings a fresh new perspective to the world of children's books. Dan Santat, The Adventures of Beekle: The

A cranky, funny, skillful, gentle, beautiful beautiful book. Jon Klassen, I Want My Hat Back

Brosgol s cartooning delivers laughs throughout . . . The fizzy collision of old-fashioned fairy tale elements with space-age physics is delightful, and even the most extroverted readers will recognize that sometimes you just need a little space. Publisher's Weekly, starred review

Unimaginary Friend

A cranky, funny, skillful, gentle, beautiful beautiful book. Jon Klassen, I Want My Hat Back

Unimaginary Friend

A cranky, funny, skillful, gentle, beautiful beautiful book. Jon Klassen, I Want My Hat Back

Unimaginary Friend

A cranky, funny, skillful, gentle, beautiful beautiful book. -Jon Klassen, I Want My Hat Back

About the Author

Vera Brosgol was born in Moscow, Russia, in 1984 and moved to the United States when she was five. Her first graphic novel, Anya's Ghost, was published in 2011 by First Second. Her picture book Leave Me Alone! was a 2017 Caldecott Honor book. She drew storyboards for the animated films Coraline, ParaNorman, and The Boxtrolls. She lives in Portland, Oregon, and at last count has knit twenty-two sweaters.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
40 pages

Author

Vera Brosgol
More books by Vera Brosgol

Publisher

First Second an imprint of Roaring Brook Press

Publication date

5th October 2016

ISBN

9781626724419


It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****