Leave Me Alone by Vera Brosgol
  

Synopsis

Leave Me Alone by Vera Brosgol

A grandmother leaves her tiny home and her very big family and journeys to the moon and beyond to find peace and quiet to finish her knitting. Along the way, she encounters ravenous bears, obnoxious goats, and even hordes of aliens! But nothing stops grandma from accomplishing her goal - knitting sweaters for her many grandchildren to keep them warm and toasty for the coming winter. This slyly clever and unexpectedly funny modern folktale is perfect for fans of Extra Yarn and is certain to warm even the coldest of hearts.

Reviews

This book reads aloud beautifully to large groups, and should have them rolling in the aisles. Funny is hard; Brosgol makes it look easy. NPR, Best Books of 2016

Brosgol's clever text manages to feel both classic and ultracontemporary, as do her illustrations . . . Colorful and fun, Leave Me Alone! will be a good addition to any bookshelf, especially for children who like to shout along. The New York Times Book Review

Displaying a firm command of the picture book format and a strong sense of comic timing, Leave Me Alone! [is] so well-executed, it feels almost unfair that this is Brosgol s first foray into picture books. The Huffington Post, Best Picture Books of 2016

Anyone who has yearned for peace and quiet and those who enjoy pestering such a person will appreciate the plight of the crotchety heroine of Leave Me Alone, a picture book by Vera Brosgol that hilariously mingles elements both folkloric and intergalactic . . . The clean lines and bright colors of Ms. Brosgol's pictures convey good cheer throughout, despite the yelling, in this snugly knitted amusement for 4- to 8-year-olds. The Wall Street Journal

Brosgol is a master . . . This offbeat tale will please readers who appreciate subtle humor, especially those who crave some time alone. School Library Journal, starred review

Brosgol s cartooning delivers laughs throughout . . . The fizzy collision of old-fashioned fairy tale elements with space-age physics is delightful, and even the most extroverted readers will recognize that sometimes you just need a little space. Publisher's Weekly, starred review

Brosgol s folkloric tale is full of humor and repetition, making it a good choice to read aloud . . . Understatedly funny, just like the Eastern European folk tales on whose shoulders it stands. Kirkus Reviews

An impressive picture book debut . . . Repetition and patterned storytelling ground the out-of-this-world elements for a thoroughly entertaining adventure. Horn Book

Brosgol infuses her fairy tale like story with a hefty dose of humor, thanks to her fantastic page turns and comedic timing . . . As cozy as a new sweater. Booklist

With clever trips to the moon and through worm holes, Vera Brosgol brings a fresh new perspective to the world of children's books. Dan Santat, The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend

A cranky, funny, skillful, gentle, beautiful beautiful book. Jon Klassen, I Want My Hat Back



About the Author

Vera Brosgol was born in Moscow, Russia, in 1984 and moved to the United States when she was five. Her first graphic novel, Anya's Ghost, was published in 2011 by First Second. She drew storyboards for the animated films Coraline, ParaNorman, and The Boxtrolls. She lives in Portland, Oregon, and at last count has knit twenty-two sweaters.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
40 pages

Author

Vera Brosgol
More books by Vera Brosgol

Publisher

First Second an imprint of Roaring Brook Press

Publication date

10th October 2016

ISBN

9781626724419


Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools