There's a Dragon in My Toilet by Tom Nicoll


There's a Dragon in My Toilet by Tom Nicoll

Book three in a hilarious new series featuring one boy and a little dragon with an oversized appetite for adventure. Pan is missing his parents in China and is delighted when Eric helps him to speak to them over the internet. But his joy turns to despair when his parents announce that they are sending his aunt and uncle to bring him home. Travelling through the sewer system, Pan's relatives show up in Eric's house via his toilet ...and they're not going back without him! Perfect for fans of Jeremy Strong and Compton Valance.

About the Author

Tom Nicoll

Tom Nicoll has been writing since he was at school, where he enjoyed trying to fit in as much silliness into his essays as he could possibly get away with. When not writing, he enjoys playing video games (especially the ones where he gets beaten by kids half his age from all over the world). He is also a big comedy, TV and movie nerd. Tom lives just outside Edinburgh with his wife, daughter and a cat that thinks it's a dog. There's a Dragon in My Dinner is his first book for children.

A Q&A with the author

How did you make the characters of Eric and Pan come to life? I wish I could give some deep or technical answer here – like I spent months researching dragon lore or something – but the truth is I just set out to write a book that made me laugh. I think it helped that before I had even started writing I had planned out the entire story. So I knew where things had to go and I had such a clear idea in my head of not only Eric and Pan, but all the characters, that most of the time it almost felt like all I really had to do was let them get on with it!

If you had a Pet dragon like Pan, what would he be called and what would he look like? I’m not sure how much of a say I’d have in his name to be honest, his mum and dad would probably sort that out. But if I did, I’d probably go for a traditional dragon name like Zakarra or Malar the Magnificent or Steve. A jet-black dragon would be pretty cool. He’d probably wear a Mini-leather jacket and ride a Mini-motorbike. He’d basically be a Mini-Dragon Fonz.

What would you get up to with your pet dragon? I think for the most part we’d probably do our own thing. I’d be writing books and he’d be working on his Mini motorbike. But at least once a month we’d meet for a catch up, maybe go see a film or get something to eat. Of course Mini-Dragons only eat mountain goats, prawn crackers or dirty washing so our choice of restaurants might be limited. Actually, maybe we could capitalize on the gap in the market there and go into the restaurant business together. Hmm…

Are any of the adventures based on real life events? Unfortunately not, they’re all just things I’ve made up. Except for one time when my parents smuggled me inside a crate of beansprouts to another country and I ended up being delivered to someone’s house inside a Chinese takeaway. But then we’ve all been there, right? Right?

Are there any more adventures planned for Eric and Pan in the future? There’s two more books in the series coming out this year. In the next one, There’s a Dragon in My Backpack! Eric reluctantly agrees to bring Pan to his school. But when their horrible neighbour Toby dragon-naps him and takes him to his school instead, Eric has no choice but to launch a daring rescue attempt. And in There’s a Dragon In My Toilet! we’ll get to meet some more Mini-Dragons, including Pan’s Aunt and Uncle. If you love Pan, you’ll love… actually, no you’ll hate his aunt and uncle. Seriously, they’re just the worst.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


128 pages
Interest Age: From 5


Tom Nicoll
More books by Tom Nicoll

Author's Website


Publication date

11th August 2016



I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

Lovereading 4 schools