Shrunk! by Fleur Hitchcock, Andy Parker
  

Synopsis

Shrunk! by Fleur Hitchcock, Andy Parker

A squirrel, a hot-dog stand, the planet Jupiter...what will get shrunk next? After Tom moves in with his grandmother next to the Bywater-by-Sea Model Village, he makes a wish on a shooting star and gets the curious ability to shrink things. The first thing he shrinks is Jupiter, then some sheep and a boat. But without Jupiter in place, the Earth is slowly being drawn towards the Sun. With the angry (and miniaturised) school bully yelling from his pocket, Tom has to return Jupiter and save Earth -- all while trying to make friends in his new home. The first in the SHRUNK! Adventures, Fleur Hitchcock has written a hugely imaginative and quirky story that is good, clean fun.

Reviews

...this cleverly structured story will make its readers laugh out loud -- Nicolette Jones Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week Utterly bonkers, uniquely British and completely loveable, it's the zaniest book I've read all year. Daily Mail A great choice for fans of Jeremy Strong, Andy Stanton and David Walliams -- Carrie Morris World Book Day Newsletter ... a lively and funny adventure. -- Julia Eccleshare Lovereading4kids Debut of the Month, September 2012 ... a funny, original and very satisfying story and sure to prove a hit with young readers Books for Keeps Book of the Week This imaginative and original debut from F.R. Hitchcock is a readable and entertaining roller-coaster ride ... Full of lively humour and fun, this is a very promising first novel which is likely to have wide appeal Booktrust's 'children's books we like for September'

About the Author

Born in Chobham, by an airfield, and raised in Winchester on the banks of the river Itchen, Fleur Hitchcock grew up as the youngest child of three. When she was eight, she wrote a story about an alien and a jelly. It was called THE ALIEN AND THE JELLY and filled four exercise books. She grew up a little, went away to school near Farnham, studied English in Wales, and, for the next twenty years, sold Applied Art in the city of Bath. When her younger child was seven, she embarked on the Writing for Young People MA at Bath Spa and graduated with a distinction. Now living outside Bath, between parenting and writing, Fleur Hitchcock works with her husband, a toymaker, looks after other people's gardens and grows vegetables. Visit Fleur at www.fleurhitchcock.wordpress.com or on twitter: @fleurhitchcock

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
256 pages
Interest Age: From 5

Author

Fleur Hitchcock, Andy Parker
More books by Fleur Hitchcock, Andy Parker

Publisher

Publication date

4th June 2015

ISBN

9781848124806


At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools