Poo in the Zoo by Steve Smallman


Poo in the Zoo by Steve Smallman

There was tiger poo, lion poo, prickly porcupine poo, Plummeting giraffe poop that landed with a splat. Dollops of gnu poo, bouncy kangaroo poo, A trail of drippy droppings from a fat wombat! Zoo Keeper Bob is exhausted. There's too much poo in the zoo - and he's the one who has to scoop it up. Then one day, a mysterious glowing poo appears! Could it be alien poop from outer space? And what on EARTH will Bob do with it? Perfect for fans of The Dinosaur who Pooped Christmas, children will laugh out loud at this gloriously funny, poopy picture book! Packed with humour, the romping rhyme and deliciously cheeky wordplay is a joy to read aloud. From the author of Dragon Stew, Steve Smallman and illustrator, Ada Grey (Shh! Don't Wake the Royal Baby).


This rhyming super-stinker just cries out to be read aloud... Ada Grey's scatological scenes induced howls of delighted laughter from my audience of 5s to 10s, several of whom wanted to paw over the pages for themselves. - Jill R Bennett This brilliantly anarchic picture story really romps along with its lively illustrations... and pages of rollicking rhyme and rib-tickling escapades. The ideal book to read aloud and get the kids laughing... and joining in the fun. - Lancashire Evening Post Packed with humour, romping rhyme and deliciously cheeky wordplay, Poo in the Zoo is a joy to read aloud to children. - Babyworld Poo in the Zoo is hilariously funny, and with a rhyming text, you will enjoy reading this out loud to little ones with its cheeky word play. Ada Grey's illustrations are bold, with cute fun characters and she has managed to illustrate all of the different types of poo rather tastefully! - Bookworm Baby A marvellous story which will have young ones in fits of laughter all the way. Ada Grey's hilarious illustrations are the perfect match. - Parents in Touch It's very funny, and utterly delightful for giggly toddlers who love a good poo story ... This is just the sort of fun picture book that goes down a treat at playgroups and nurseries, and is wonderful for a rainy afternoon's story time. The Book Bag Blog's Top 10 Picture Books of 2015 Rhyming text, detailed illustrations and plenty of toilet humour combine to create a silly tale which is sure to appeal to young children, and could be particularly useful when potty training. - Booktrust A great bedtime treat. - Daily Mirror A ridiculously silly story, with great rhyming text and fun illustrations. - Carousel

About the Author

Steve Smallman

Steve Smallman lives in Staffordshire with his wife, two dogs and two cats. He has four children and a grandchild. Steve has been illustrating children’s books for almost 30 years and writing his own stories for slightly less. He also teaches illustration workshops in schools, including mural-painting. Steve is the author of Smelly Peter the Great Pea Eater (Winner of the Sheffield Children's Book Award 2009) and The Lamb Who Came for Dinner (Shortlisted for the Red House Children's Book Award and read by Meatloaf on CITV's Bookaboo). When he’s not working, Steve enjoys films, television, gardening and walking in the countryside.

Steve Smallman on Steve Smallman:

I started working as an illustrator when I was in my final year at Art College and now, over 28 years later I still haven't got a proper job! I've illustrated literally hundreds of books, predominantly in educational publishing. A few years ago I was main illustrator for Longman's 'Story Street' reading scheme, illustrating 79 titles and writing 5.

I've worked in children's television, specifically in character development and most notably in the 'Raggy Doll' series in the mid to late 1980's. I have also done a certain amount of licensed work, illustrating characters such as Postman Pat, Bill and Ben and Sesame Street.

I've been described as an 'Animal Artist', not I hasten to add because I'm wild and hairy but because I love to draw animals and especially like to give them human characteristics.

I've been writing children's books for about 6 years and have already had several picture books published with more in development.

I've got 4 great children and although they're all adults now, my memories of them growing up inspire and inform my writing.

Click here to read a Little Tiger interview with Steve Smallman.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


32 pages
Interest Age: From 3


Steve Smallman
More books by Steve Smallman



Publication date

6th July 2015



I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

Lovereading 4 schools