Poo in the Zoo by Steve Smallman
  

Synopsis

Poo in the Zoo by Steve Smallman

There was tiger poo, lion poo, prickly porcupine poo, Plummeting giraffe poop that landed with a splat. Dollops of gnu poo, bouncy kangaroo poo, A trail of drippy droppings from a fat wombat! Zoo Keeper Bob is exhausted. There's too much poo in the zoo - and he's the one who has to scoop it up. Then one day, a mysterious glowing poo appears! Could it be alien poop from outer space? And what on EARTH will Bob do with it? Perfect for fans of The Dinosaur who Pooped the Planet, children will laugh out loud at this gloriously funny, poopy picture book! Packed with humour, the romping rhyme and deliciously cheeky wordplay is a joy to read aloud. From the author of Dragon Stew, Steve Smallman and illustrator, Ada Grey (Shh! Don't Wake the Royal Baby).

Reviews

Few children can resist getting to the bottom of a poopy kind of mystery, and Steve Smallman's gloriously funny rhyming story has it - literally - in bucket and spadefuls. This brilliantly anarchic picture story really romps along with its lively illustrations - courtesy of the talented Ada Grey - and pages of rollicking rhyme and rib-tickling escapades. The ideal book to read aloud and get the kids laughing... and joining in the fun. Lancashire Evening Post

About the Author

Steve Smallman

Steve Smallman lives in Staffordshire with his wife, two dogs and two cats. He has four children and a grandchild. Steve has been illustrating children’s books for almost 30 years and writing his own stories for slightly less. He also teaches illustration workshops in schools, including mural-painting. Steve is the author of Smelly Peter the Great Pea Eater (Winner of the Sheffield Children's Book Award 2009) and The Lamb Who Came for Dinner (Shortlisted for the Red House Children's Book Award and read by Meatloaf on CITV's Bookaboo). When he’s not working, Steve enjoys films, television, gardening and walking in the countryside.

Steve Smallman on Steve Smallman:

I started working as an illustrator when I was in my final year at Art College and now, over 28 years later I still haven't got a proper job! I've illustrated literally hundreds of books, predominantly in educational publishing. A few years ago I was main illustrator for Longman's 'Story Street' reading scheme, illustrating 79 titles and writing 5.

I've worked in children's television, specifically in character development and most notably in the 'Raggy Doll' series in the mid to late 1980's. I have also done a certain amount of licensed work, illustrating characters such as Postman Pat, Bill and Ben and Sesame Street.

I've been described as an 'Animal Artist', not I hasten to add because I'm wild and hairy but because I love to draw animals and especially like to give them human characteristics.

I've been writing children's books for about 6 years and have already had several picture books published with more in development.

I've got 4 great children and although they're all adults now, my memories of them growing up inspire and inform my writing.

Click here to read a Little Tiger interview with Steve Smallman.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
32 pages
Interest Age: From 3

Author

Steve Smallman
More books by Steve Smallman

Publisher


www.littletiger.co.uk

Publication date

6th July 2015

ISBN

9781848691384


I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools