Sidney, Stella and the Moon by Emma Yarlett
  

Sidney, Stella and the Moon

Written by Emma Yarlett
Illustrated by

Baby and Toddler   

RRP £6.99

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2014 Brother and sister Sidney and Stella do everything together, but they just cannot agree to share. When an argument over a bouncy ball ends up smashing the Moon, Sidney and Stella have to learn to work together and to share, in order to fix things. This debut picture book is a tour-de-force of the imagination by exciting emerging talent Emma Yarlett.

Synopsis

Sidney, Stella and the Moon by Emma Yarlett

Longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2014 Twins Sidney and Stella love doing everything together - everything except sharing. When an quarrel over a bouncy ball creates a moon-sized problem, the twins must face their biggest ever challenge: working together to find a new moon!

Reviews

Twins Sidney and Stella do everything together, but like many siblings they have trouble sharing. They fight over everything-a carousel horse, a teddy bear, a trumpet. When they argue over their ball, it bounces out of the window and knocks down the Moon, smashing it into pieces. They hope that no one notices its disappearance, but in vain. Next morning, the town is abuzz with the outrageous news, depicted in a double-page foldout. The siblings search high and low for a replacement until Sidney stumbles on a glowing wheel of cheese. After a brief struggle with Stella's jump rope, the children reconcile their sharing problem and successfully launch the new Moon into the sky. Yarlett's cartoonish digital collages, speech balloons, and font size and style variations offer a plethora of hilarious details that enrich this imaginative story. Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Mini Grey should enjoy this short but comical romp, and all readers will benefit from a story about sharing that isn't heavy-handed or overly moralizing -- Yelena Alekseyeva-Popova, * Chappaqua Library, NY * 'The book itself is gorgeous, full of deep blues and turquoise colours, offset with warm rustic reds. It is immensely strokeable.' * Rhino Reads * This is a fun, story, with lovely illustrations that children will find engaging, particularly the fold-out middle pages * Bookapoet blog spot *

About the Author

Emma Yarlett likes to paint, draw, collage, design, write, doodle, construct, invent, splatter and sketch. In 2011 she graduated with first class honours in Illustration from University College Falmouth and began her career as a illustrator and author. Her clients include Hallmark, Waterstones (animation for their children's book award in 2012) and of course Templar Publishing.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
32 pages

Author

Emma Yarlett
More books by Emma Yarlett

Author's Website

www.emmayarlett.com/

Publisher

Templar Publishing

Publication date

1st October 2013

ISBN

9781848776029

Categories


We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****