Sidney, Stella and the Moon by Emma Yarlett
  

Sidney, Stella and the Moon

Written by Emma Yarlett
Illustrated by

Baby and Toddler   

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2014 Brother and sister Sidney and Stella do everything together, but they just cannot agree to share. When an argument over a bouncy ball ends up smashing the Moon, Sidney and Stella have to learn to work together and to share, in order to fix things. This debut picture book is a tour-de-force of the imagination by exciting emerging talent Emma Yarlett.

Win ticket to Gruffalo’s Child Live on stage plus 2018 Annual

Win a family ticket to see The Gruffalo’s Child Live on stage in the West End plus a copy of The Gruffalo and Friends Annual 2018.

Following hot on the heels of The Gruffalo’s monstrous success comes The Gruffalo’s Child - with attitude! Just how brave is she? Find out for yourselves by joining her in the West End this Christmas! The Gruffalo said that no gruffalo should ever set foot in the deep dark wood. . . One wild and windy night the Gruffalo’s Child ignores her father’s warning and tiptoes out into the snow. After all, the Big Bad Mouse doesn’t really exist... does he?

Tall Stories returns, bringing Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler’s award-winning sequel to life in this magical, musical adaptation.

One winner will receive a family ticket (four tickets, minimum one adult) to see The Gruffalo’s Child Live at the Lyric Theatre valid until 16 December, excludes 12pm weekend performances plus a copy of The Gruffalo and Friends Annual 2018. Subject to availability. No cash alternative. Travel and accommodation not included. The Gruffalo’s Child © Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler 2004 – Macmillan Children’s Books.

To have a chance of winning this prize click the button below.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 20 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 22 November 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 20/11/2017

Synopsis

Sidney, Stella and the Moon by Emma Yarlett

Longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2014 Twins Sidney and Stella love doing everything together - everything except sharing. When an quarrel over a bouncy ball creates a moon-sized problem, the twins must face their biggest ever challenge: working together to find a new moon!

Reviews

Twins Sidney and Stella do everything together, but like many siblings they have trouble sharing. They fight over everything-a carousel horse, a teddy bear, a trumpet. When they argue over their ball, it bounces out of the window and knocks down the Moon, smashing it into pieces. They hope that no one notices its disappearance, but in vain. Next morning, the town is abuzz with the outrageous news, depicted in a double-page foldout. The siblings search high and low for a replacement until Sidney stumbles on a glowing wheel of cheese. After a brief struggle with Stella's jump rope, the children reconcile their sharing problem and successfully launch the new Moon into the sky. Yarlett's cartoonish digital collages, speech balloons, and font size and style variations offer a plethora of hilarious details that enrich this imaginative story. Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Mini Grey should enjoy this short but comical romp, and all readers will benefit from a story about sharing that isn't heavy-handed or overly moralizing -- Yelena Alekseyeva-Popova, * Chappaqua Library, NY * 'The book itself is gorgeous, full of deep blues and turquoise colours, offset with warm rustic reds. It is immensely strokeable.' * Rhino Reads * This is a fun, story, with lovely illustrations that children will find engaging, particularly the fold-out middle pages * Bookapoet blog spot *

About the Author

Emma Yarlett likes to paint, draw, collage, design, write, doodle, construct, invent, splatter and sketch. In 2011 she graduated with first class honours in Illustration from University College Falmouth and began her career as a illustrator and author. Her clients include Hallmark, Waterstones (animation for their children's book award in 2012) and of course Templar Publishing.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
32 pages

Author

Emma Yarlett
More books by Emma Yarlett

Author's Website

www.emmayarlett.com/

Publisher

Templar Publishing

Publication date

1st October 2013

ISBN

9781848776029

Categories


Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****