Sidney, Stella and the Moon by Emma Yarlett

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2014 Brother and sister Sidney and Stella do everything together, but they just cannot agree to share. When an argument over a bouncy ball ends up smashing the Moon, Sidney and Stella have to learn to work together and to share, in order to fix things. This debut picture book is a tour-de-force of the imagination by exciting emerging talent Emma Yarlett.


Sidney, Stella and the Moon by Emma Yarlett

Longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2014 Twins Sidney and Stella love doing everything together - everything except sharing. When an quarrel over a bouncy ball creates a moon-sized problem, the twins must face their biggest ever challenge: working together to find a new moon!


Twins Sidney and Stella do everything together, but like many siblings they have trouble sharing. They fight over everything-a carousel horse, a teddy bear, a trumpet. When they argue over their ball, it bounces out of the window and knocks down the Moon, smashing it into pieces. They hope that no one notices its disappearance, but in vain. Next morning, the town is abuzz with the outrageous news, depicted in a double-page foldout. The siblings search high and low for a replacement until Sidney stumbles on a glowing wheel of cheese. After a brief struggle with Stella's jump rope, the children reconcile their sharing problem and successfully launch the new Moon into the sky. Yarlett's cartoonish digital collages, speech balloons, and font size and style variations offer a plethora of hilarious details that enrich this imaginative story. Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Mini Grey should enjoy this short but comical romp, and all readers will benefit from a story about sharing that isn't heavy-handed or overly moralizing -- Yelena Alekseyeva-Popova, Chappaqua Library, NY 'The book itself is gorgeous, full of deep blues and turquoise colours, offset with warm rustic reds. It is immensely strokeable.

-out middle pages Bookapoet blog spot

About the Author

Emma Yarlett likes to paint, draw, collage, design, write, doodle, construct, invent, splatter and sketch. In 2011 she graduated with first class honours in Illustration from University College Falmouth and began her career as a illustrator and author. Her clients include Hallmark, Waterstones (animation for their children's book award in 2012) and of course Templar Publishing.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info




Emma Yarlett
More books by Emma Yarlett

Author's Website


Publication date

1st October 2013




I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

Lovereading 4 schools