King's Company by Jessamy Taylor
  

Synopsis

King's Company by Jessamy Taylor

A chance encounter plunges young William D'Amory into a world of intrigue and betrayal. He meets new friends and dangerous enemies, and learns the truth about his father, as he is caught up in the fight for the throne of England itself.1146: England at WarWilliam D'Amory dreams of battle and glory, but since his father died defending King Stephen; there is no money to train him for knighthood. Instead he must tend the pigs while his family prays England's bitter civil war will pass them by. Then comes a stranger on a secret mission and William is plunged into danger and intrigue. Pursued across war-torn England in the company of a fugitive prince he must at last face the truth about his father's death.An exciting debut by Jessamy Taylor, who is set to become a major voice in historical fiction for children. She blends a sure feel for story-telling with a vivid sense of period, in the tradition of Rosemary Sutcliff and Ronald Welch. And in William D'Amory she has created a hero that boys and girls will want to follow to the last page.

Reviews

'King's Company has a blistering start! The opening is beautifully written'. Amazon customer review'

'Jessamy Taylor has written a very gripping historical novel for children and adults alike. I was captivated from the opening paragraph and very much enjoyed the book's fast pace and suspense'. Amazon review

About the Author

Jessamy Taylor was born in 1975 and grew up in East Molesey in Surry. She read History at Peterhouse, Cambridge, and went on to work in music publishing and in teaching. She lives in North London with her husband and three children.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
192 pages

Author

Jessamy Taylor
More books by Jessamy Taylor

Publisher

IndieBooks

Publication date

10th November 2014

ISBN

9781908041197


I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools