King's Company by Jessamy Taylor
  

King's Company

Written by Jessamy Taylor
Illustrated by

RRP £18.00

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Synopsis

King's Company by Jessamy Taylor

A chance encounter plunges young William D'Amory into a world of intrigue and betrayal. He meets new friends and dangerous enemies, and learns the truth about his father, as he is caught up in the fight for the throne of England itself.1146: England at WarWilliam D'Amory dreams of battle and glory, but since his father died defending King Stephen; there is no money to train him for knighthood. Instead he must tend the pigs while his family prays England's bitter civil war will pass them by. Then comes a stranger on a secret mission and William is plunged into danger and intrigue. Pursued across war-torn England in the company of a fugitive prince he must at last face the truth about his father's death.An exciting debut by Jessamy Taylor, who is set to become a major voice in historical fiction for children. She blends a sure feel for story-telling with a vivid sense of period, in the tradition of Rosemary Sutcliff and Ronald Welch. And in William D'Amory she has created a hero that boys and girls will want to follow to the last page.

Reviews

'King's Company has a blistering start! The opening is beautifully written'. Amazon customer review'

'Jessamy Taylor has written a very gripping historical novel for children and adults alike. I was captivated from the opening paragraph and very much enjoyed the book's fast pace and suspense'. Amazon review

About the Author

Jessamy Taylor was born in 1975 and grew up in East Molesey in Surry. She read History at Peterhouse, Cambridge, and went on to work in music publishing and in teaching. She lives in North London with her husband and three children.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
192 pages

Author

Jessamy Taylor
More books by Jessamy Taylor

Publisher

IndieBooks

Publication date

10th November 2014

ISBN

9781908041197


I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools