King's Company by Jessamy Taylor


King's Company by Jessamy Taylor

A chance encounter plunges young William D'Amory into a world of intrigue and betrayal. He meets new friends and dangerous enemies, and learns the truth about his father, as he is caught up in the fight for the throne of England itself.1146: England at WarWilliam D'Amory dreams of battle and glory, but since his father died defending King Stephen; there is no money to train him for knighthood. Instead he must tend the pigs while his family prays England's bitter civil war will pass them by. Then comes a stranger on a secret mission and William is plunged into danger and intrigue. Pursued across war-torn England in the company of a fugitive prince he must at last face the truth about his father's death.An exciting debut by Jessamy Taylor, who is set to become a major voice in historical fiction for children. She blends a sure feel for story-telling with a vivid sense of period, in the tradition of Rosemary Sutcliff and Ronald Welch. And in William D'Amory she has created a hero that boys and girls will want to follow to the last page.


'King's Company has a blistering start! The opening is beautifully written'. Amazon customer review; 'Loved it! Historical fiction but with a really strong contemporary sensibility'. Amazon customer review; 'Jessamy Taylor has written a very gripping historical novel for children and adults alike. I was captivated from the opening paragraph and very much enjoyed the book's fast pace and suspense'. Amazon review; 'A fabulous read, which will encourage children to get excited by history - I thoroughly recommend'. Amazon customer review'

About the Author

Jessamy Taylor was born in 1975 and grew up in East Molesey in Surry. She read History at Peterhouse, Cambridge, and went on to work in music publishing and in teaching. She lives in North London with her husband and three children.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


192 pages


Jessamy Taylor
More books by Jessamy Taylor


Publication date

10th November 2014



I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

Lovereading 4 schools