Bloodsong by Melvin Burgess
  

Bloodsong

Melvin Burgess

Synopsis

Bloodsong by Melvin Burgess

'Love. Hate. So what? It's family. It's business.'Fifteen-year-old Sigurd, son of King Sigmund, is the last surviving member of the Volson clan. His father's kingdom - the former city of London - is gone. And his father's knife, a gift from the gods, has been shattered to dust. Armed with a powerful sword forged from the remnants of the knife, Sigurd faces death, fire and torment as he travels through Hel and back to unite his country once again.Packed with political intrigue and violence, love, lust and family feuds, Bloodsong is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones. 'Burgess's great triumph is not so much in inventing new stories as in finding fresh ways of retelling the ones that are themselves in danger of falling into extinction' Guardian 'A gripping story of horrific proportions from a prize-winning author' - Publishing News 'Teenage boys with strong stomachs should enjoy it' - Independent on Sunday 'A thrillingly readable and evocative narrative' - Daily Telegraph

Reviews

A gripping story of horrific proportions from a prize-winning author. Publishing News

Dark and tragic as it frequently is, nevertheless pulses with the intensity of lives richly lived and experiences richly recaptured. -- Robert Dunbar Irish Times

Bloodtide was good. This is better. It's the best thing I've read by Melvin Burgess... This is a novel that matches the power of its ancient inspiration and remakes it for another time. -- Cb Books for Keeps

Burgess's great triumph is not so much in inventing new stories as in finding fresh ways of retelling the ones that are themselves in danger of falling into extinction. -- Kathryn Hughes Guardian

Burgess imagination is amazing - he takes you to the brink every time. -- John McLay The Bookseller

Teenage boys with strong stomachs should enjoy it . Independent on Sunday

A thrillingly readable and evocative narrative Daily Telegraph

About the Author

Melvin Burgess

Melvin Burgess was brought up in Sussex and Berkshire. As a child, his reading included The Wind in the Willows and Gerald Durrell's animal stories. He went on to enjoy The Hobbit and Mervyn Peake's Gormenghast books. A generally unconfident student, he became interested in writing when he was twelve and an English teacher praised one of his stories - "it was about the first time I'd ever done anything that got an A. I was so pleased I never stopped." After leaving school, Melvin moved to Bristol where he worked on occasional jobs, mainly in the building industry, and was often unemployed. He started writing in his twenties and wrote on and off for the next fifteen years before The Cry of the Wolf was published in 1990. He moved to London in 1983 and began a small business marbling fabrics for the fashion industry. In 1997 his controversial bestseller Junk won the Guardian Children's Fiction Award and the Carnegie Medal. It was also shortlisted for the 1998 Whitbread Children's Book of the Year. Four of his novels have been shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal.

Melvin Burgess is regarded as one of the best writers in contemporary children's literature. In 1997, his controversial bestseller Junk won the Guardian Children's Fiction Award and the Carnegie Medal. It was also shortlisted for the 1998 Whitbread Children's Book of the Year. Four of his novels have been shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal. Melvin lives in Hebden Bridge with his partner.

Photo credit: John Coombes

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

eBook

Author

Melvin Burgess
More books by Melvin Burgess

Author's Website

www.melvinburgess.net/

Publisher

Andersen Andersen Digital

Publication date

1st August 2013

ISBN

9781849396943


Publisher Profile

Andersen Press Ltd is an imprint of Andersen Press

logo Andersen Press is one of the leading independent children’s publishers, publishing some of the biggest names in the world of children's books including the much-loved picture book characters the Little Princess and Elmer the patchwork elephant. Andersen Press is the home of many award-winning authors and illustrators including Melvin Burgess, Rebecca Stead, Satoshi Kitamura, Tony Ross, David McKee, Chris Judge and Jeanne Willis. Founded in 1976 by Klaus Flugge it won the Bologna Best Children’s Publisher prize in the European Category in 2016, the company’s 40th anniversary year.

Publisher's Website

www.andersenpress.co.uk


Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools