Children's Book Awards - Shortlists and Winners Children's Book Awards - Shortlists and Winners

This Month's Featured Books

Leopold Blue
Rosie Rowell
Winner of The Branford Boase Award 2015 Leopold Blue is an emotionally taut and beautifully written story from debut author, Rosie Rowell with a mesmerising voice. Meg Bergman lives... Featured in: YA readers | Branford Boase Award | All Shortlists and Winners | eBooks
Format: Paperback | Released 02/01/2014
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

The Day the Crayons Quit
Drew Daywalt
Winner of the UKLA Award 2015 in the 3-6 years category. Award-winning Oliver Jeffers and Drew Daywalt's highly-entertaining new book mean that colouring will never be the same again! When Duncan goes to take out his crayons one day he... Featured in: 5+ readers | Books of the Year | All Shortlists and Winners | Christmas 2013 | Schools | UKLA Book Awards
Format: Hardback | Released 01/08/2013
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Shackleton's Journey
William Grill
Winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal 2015 Debut author and illustrator, William Grill, 25, has become the youngest winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal. “I believe there is a large, untapped reserve of non-fiction stories waiting to be re-interpreted that,... Featured in: 7+ readers | All Shortlists and Winners | Carnegie Greenaway | Free Prize Draws
Format: Hardback | Released 02/01/2014
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Werewolf Club Rules! And Other Poems
Joseph Coelho
Winner of 2015 CLPE Poetry Award - the only award in the UK for published children's poetry An exciting debut poetry collection from an exciting new voice. The collection includes a wide range of poems, from funny and fantastical to... Featured in: 7+ readers | All Shortlists and Winners | 9+ readers | Poetry
Format: Paperback | Released 01/08/2014
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Buffalo Soldier
Tanya Landman
Winner of the 2015 CILIP Carnegie Medal The Judges comment “We were particularly impressed with how Buffalo Soldier explored what it means to be truly free: the evolving idea of freedom is an essential part of this gripping, often... Featured in: 11+ readers | All Shortlists and Winners | Carnegie Greenaway | 13+ readers | eBooks
Format: Paperback | Released 03/04/2014
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Reader ReviewedOliver and the Seawigs
Philip Reeve
Winner of the UKLA Award 2015 in the 7 - 11 years category. Award-winning Philip Reeve spins a hugely original yarn encompassing moving islands, a short sighted mermaid, a stuck-up boy by the name of Stacey de Lacey and his... Featured in: 7+ readers | All Shortlists and Winners | 9+ readers | Reluctant Readers | eBooks | Schools | UKLA Book Awards
Format: Paperback | Released 04/09/2014
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Every Day
David Levithan
Winner of the UKLA Award 2015 in the 12 - 16 years category. A stunningly original and edgy exploration of love, longing and the boundaries of identity that will make you view the world from a different perspective. Both funny... Featured in: 13+ readers | Books of the Year | All Shortlists and Winners | eBooks | Schools | UKLA Book Awards
Format: Paperback | Released 29/08/2013
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Last Month's Featured Books

Hedgehugs
Steve Wilson
Shortlisted for Oscar's First Book Prize 2015 Horace and Hattie hedgehog are best friends but too spiky to hug each other, so they try on different outfits, from snow to...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Tiny
Nicola Davies
Longlisted for the 2015 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal This is simply an outstanding book. Nicola Davies and Emily Sutton explain the life and purpose of microbes clearly and lucidly for...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

More Featured Books

The Fearsome Beastie
Giles Paley-Phillips
April 2012 Book of the Month. Winner of The People's Book Prize 2012, a national competition aimed at discovering new and unknown works: a truly democratic book prize...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Trouble
Non Pratt
Shortlisted for The Branford Boase Award 2015 ****Non Pratt is appearing alongside fellow YA authors, James Dawson and Malorie Blackman...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Minecraft: The Official Construction Handbook
Egmont UK Ltd
Shortlisted for The Bookseller's Book of the Year Minecraft is a BAFTA award winning online gaming sensation with over 41 million registered users. There's nothing that can't be built in...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Macavity!
T. S. Eliot
Shortlisted for The Bookseller's Book of the Year The slippery exploits of Macavity, just one of the much-loved cats from the classic Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats, is vividly...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Awful Auntie
David Walliams
Shortlisted for The Bookseller's Book of the Year - One of our Books of the Year 2014 - One of the Lovereading4kids Readers' Choice Books of the Year 2014 Best-selling David...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Girl Online
Zoe Sugg
Shortlisted for The Bookseller's Book of the Year - December 2014 Mega Debut of the Month Vlogger Zoella's fans will fall headlong into this sharply observed, super-realistic teen story. Against...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Scarlet Ibis
Gill Lewis
Winner of the Little Rebels Book Award 2015 - Longlisted for the 2015 CILIP Carnegie Medal - Gill Lewis is renowned for her stories about powerful and beneficial relationships between animals and...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Queen's Hat
Steve Antony
Winner of Oscar's First Book Prize 2015 & Shortlisted for the Waterstone's Best Illustrated Book 2015 From a debut author-illustrator comes an hilarious tale that takes you all around London!...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Story of the Blue Planet
Andri Snaer Magnason
Winner of the UKLA Book Awards 7-11 category 2014 A whimsical fairy tale that will appeal to fans of Maurice Sendak, Dr Seuss and Hans Christian Andersen, The Story of...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category
Share this page
The Book Awards category on Lovereading4kids will help you and your child discover authors currently in contention for and/or winners of the most prestigious awards. By their very presence on this page, you can be sure that each of the books featured here is the 'crème-de-la-crème' of today's children's literature. _______________

For each of the awards included in this Book Award category, Lovereading4kids will feature the shortlist of books and authors before the individual winner is announced. As with all our Featured Books, you and your child will be able to download and print off free Opening Extracts of each book. In this way, you can choose your own winner and see if the judges agree with you!

And remember, even if the judges don't pick your favourite, all our Children's Book Award books are available to order online at 25% off the RRP.

As Lovereading4kids grows we'll be featuring as many awards as we can manage, including:

Kate Greenaway Medal

Carnegie Medal

Costa Children's Award

Marsh Award in Translation

Blue Peter Book Award

The Guardian Children's Fiction Award

Early Years Book Award

The Red House Children's Book Award

The Booktrust Teenage Prize


Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools

Lovewriting