Children's Book Awards - Shortlists and Winners Children's Book Awards - Shortlists and Winners

This Month's Featured Books

Tiny
Nicola Davies
Longlisted for the 2015 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal This is simply an outstanding book. Nicola Davies and Emily Sutton explain the life and purpose of microbes clearly and lucidly for very young children, through simple language and beautiful illustrations. Using... Featured in: 5+ readers | All Shortlists and Winners | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 04/06/2015
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Hedgehugs
Steve Wilson
Shortlisted for Oscar's First Book Prize 2015 Horace and Hattie hedgehog are best friends but too spiky to hug each other, so they try on different outfits, from snow to strawberries, to try to make it easier. Featured in: 3+ readers | 5+ readers | All Shortlists and Winners
Format: Paperback | Released 25/09/2014
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Last Month's Featured Books

The Fearsome Beastie
Giles Paley-Phillips
April 2012 Book of the Month. Winner of The People's Book Prize 2012, a national competition aimed at discovering new and unknown works: a truly democratic book prize...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Trouble
Non Pratt
Shortlisted for The Branford Boase Award 2015 ****Non Pratt is appearing alongside fellow YA authors, James Dawson and Malorie Blackman...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Minecraft: The Official Construction Handbook
Egmont UK Ltd
Shortlisted for The Bookseller's Book of the Year Minecraft is a BAFTA award winning online gaming sensation with over 41 million registered users. There's nothing that can't be built in...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Macavity!
T. S. Eliot
Shortlisted for The Bookseller's Book of the Year The slippery exploits of Macavity, just one of the much-loved cats from the classic Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats, is vividly...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Awful Auntie
David Walliams
Shortlisted for The Bookseller's Book of the Year - One of our Books of the Year 2014 - One of the Lovereading4kids Readers' Choice Books of the Year 2014 Best-selling David...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Girl Online
Zoe Sugg
Shortlisted for The Bookseller's Book of the Year - December 2014 Mega Debut of the Month Vlogger Zoella's fans will fall headlong into this sharply observed, super-realistic teen story. Against...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Scarlet Ibis
Gill Lewis
Winner of the Little Rebels Book Award 2015 - Longlisted for the 2015 CILIP Carnegie Medal - Gill Lewis is renowned for her stories about powerful and beneficial relationships between animals and...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Queen's Hat
Steve Antony
Winner of Oscar's First Book Prize 2015 & Shortlisted for the Waterstone's Best Illustrated Book 2015 From a debut author-illustrator comes an hilarious tale that takes you all around London!...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Story of the Blue Planet
Andri Snaer Magnason
Winner of the UKLA Book Awards 7-11 category 2014 A whimsical fairy tale that will appeal to fans of Maurice Sendak, Dr Seuss and Hans Christian Andersen, The Story of...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

More Featured Books

Itch
Simon Mayo
Shortlisted for the National Book Tokens Children's Book of the Year 2012 A terrific action adventure packed-full of fascinating true science! Itch is making an unusual collection: when it is...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Dark Satanic Mills
Marcus Sedgwick, Julian Sedgwick
Shortlisted for the 2015 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal - November 2013 Book of the Month Award-winning Marcus Sedgwick has teamed up with authors and illustrators to create a page turning, apocalyptic...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse
Chris Riddell
Shortlisted for the 2015 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal - Winner of the Costa Children's Book Award 2013 Bestselling author/illustrator Chris Riddell creates a fantastical world in which Ada Goth, daughter of...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Jim's Lion
Russell Hoban
Shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2015 A touching story about a boy in hospital, who dreams wild and extraordinary dreams as he faces a life-saving operation. Jim is in hospital. He's...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Girl with a White Dog
Anne Booth
Shortlisted for the Waterstone's Best Fiction for 5-12's Award 2015 - Shortlisted for the Little Rebels Book Award 2015 A thoughtful and emotionally charged story in which different generations are linked by...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Cuckoo Song
Frances Hardinge
Shortlisted for the 2015 CILIP Carnegie Medal - May 2014 Book of the Month Frances Hardinge creates a brilliant sense of menace in this chillingly dark fairy story . Something sinister,...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed More Than This
Patrick Ness
Shortlisted for the 2015 CILIP Carnegie Medal This exceptional novel from multi-award-winning Patrick Ness will, once again, delight his readers with a superbly written, enthralling and provocative story that raises the...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Middle of Nowhere
Geraldine Mccaughrean
Shortlisted for the 2015 CILIP Carnegie Medal - One of our Books of the Year 2014 - Shortlisted for The Little Rebels Children's Book Award 2014 Award-winning Geraldine McCaughrean captures a far...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Fastest Boy in the World
Elizabeth Laird
Shortlisted for the 2015 CILIP Carnegie Medal In a beautifully told story packed with emotion and action, Elizabeth Laird tells how eleven- year- old Solomon turns his dreams of becoming an International...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Promise
Nicola Davies
Shortlisted for the 2015 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal The Promise is a story with a strong green message - about the power we have to transform our world - and features...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Blown Away
Rob Biddulph
Winner of the 2015 Waterstones Children's Book Prize A brilliant adventure for a bold Penguin who gets swept up, up and away on a brand new kite on a windy...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Apple and Rain
Sarah Crossan
Shortlisted for the 2015 CILIP Carnegie Medal Apple is sure that one day her mother will return. And when that happens she is sure that everything in her life will be good...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Something
Rebecca Cobb
April 2015 Book of the Month - Longlisted for the 2015 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal Award-winning illustrator Rebecca Cobb creates a number of different imaginary worlds in this delightfully fanciful...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Shh! We Have a Plan
Chris Haughton
Longlisted for the 2015 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal - Shortlisted for the Little Rebels Book Award 2015 Awarding-winning Chris Haughton tells a big story in stunning illustrations in his near-wordless picture book....
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Only Ever Yours
Louise O'Neill
Winner of The Bookseller Young Adult Book Prize 2015 - Shortlisted for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize Best Fiction for Teens Award 2015 In a dystopian future women are...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Tinder
Sally Gardner
Shortlisted for the 2015 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal - Shortlisted for the 2015 CILIP Carnegie Medal Award-winning Sally Gardner tells a gripping, bloody and bold story drawing on the traditions of fairy...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Hermelin The Detective Mouse
Mini Grey
Shortlisted for the 2015 UKLA Book Awards 3-6 years Hermelin is a noticer. He is also a finder. The occupants of Offley Street are delighted when their missing items are...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category
Share this page
The Book Awards category on Lovereading4kids will help you and your child discover authors currently in contention for and/or winners of the most prestigious awards. By their very presence on this page, you can be sure that each of the books featured here is the 'crème-de-la-crème' of today's children's literature. _______________

For each of the awards included in this Book Award category, Lovereading4kids will feature the shortlist of books and authors before the individual winner is announced. As with all our Featured Books, you and your child will be able to download and print off free Opening Extracts of each book. In this way, you can choose your own winner and see if the judges agree with you!

And remember, even if the judges don't pick your favourite, all our Children's Book Award books are available to order online at 25% off the RRP.

As Lovereading4kids grows we'll be featuring as many awards as we can manage, including:

Kate Greenaway Medal

Carnegie Medal

Costa Children's Award

Marsh Award in Translation

Blue Peter Book Award

The Guardian Children's Fiction Award

Early Years Book Award

The Red House Children's Book Award

The Booktrust Teenage Prize


Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools

Lovewriting