Featured Books for 9+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers

All authors and books in this category
Show this month's Featured Books for 9+ readers Books
Show Author List

Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 131 pages in total

Rory Branagan (Detective)
Andrew Clover
Meet RORY BRANAGAN - he eats bad guys for breakfast. Well, not ACTUALLY. But he IS the best detective in town. First in a hilarious seven-book, comedy-crime series for readers of 8+ Featured in: 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 22/03/2018
Info Extract Buy

Flamingo Boy
Michael Morpurgo
A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION Featured in: 9+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 08/03/2018
Info Extract Buy

Love from Lexie (The Lost and Found)
Cathy Cassidy
Ever since Lexie's mum vanished, her world hasn't stopped spinning. A new home, a new school - even a new family but Lexie never gives up hope that her mum will come back and writes her letters every day to... Featured in: 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 22/02/2018
Info Extract Buy

Wave Me Goodbye
Jacqueline Wilson, Nick Sharratt
In a nutshell: an evacuee story as imagined by the one and only Jacqueline Wilson February 2018 Book of the Month Queen of contemporary fiction, Jacqueline Wilson is now setting her stories in the past, but they're not one bit... Featured in: 9+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 08/02/2018
Info Extract Buy

Amazing Women 101 Lives to Inspire You
Lucy Beevor
A beautifully illustrated, empowering and inspiring collection of the extraordinary achievements of 101 amazing women of our time. Lovereading Review to follow. Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 08/02/2018
Info Extract Buy

A Spoonful of Murder: A Murder Most Unladylike Mystery
Robin Stevens
When Hazel Wong's beloved grandfather passes away, Daisy Wells is all too happy to accompany her friend (and Detective Society Vice President) to Hazel's family estate in beautiful, bustling Hong Kong. But when they arrive they discover something they didn't... Featured in: 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 08/02/2018
Info Extract Buy

Girls for the Vote
Linda Newbery
The Girls at 6 Chelsea Walk is a unique collection of six intertwining novels by three highly regarded, award-winning authors. Each novel charts the life and times of the house at 6 Chelsea Walk, London, and the girls who lived... Featured in: 11+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 08/02/2018
Info Extract Buy

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow
Jessica Townsend
Enter the Wundrous world of Morrigan Crow and Nevermoor - the most fantastical children's series of the year. Featured in: 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 08/02/2018
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedBegone the Raggedy Witches
Celine Kiernan, Victoria Semykina
In a nutshell: well-written, enthralling magical adventure The age-old theme of good versus evil is given a lively reworking in Celine Kiernan's new series. When her father is kidnapped by witches, her mother sets out with Mup, her brother and... Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 01/02/2018
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedHari and His Electric Feet
Alexander Mccall Smith
The story of Hari and his unusual talent is a feel-good story of young kids chasing big dreams that shimmers with all of Alexander McCall Smith's trademark optimism and joy - an outlook on life that makes him one of... Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 01/02/2018
Info Extract Buy

The Darkening King
Justin Fisher
Ned and the magical Circus of Marvels are back in a third rip-roaring, page-turning adventure! Featured in: 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 26/07/2018
Info Extract Buy

Battle of the Beetles
M.G. Leonard
The beetle adventure continues as Darkus and his friends seek wicked Lucretia Cutter's secret Biome in the Amazon rainforest. Featured in: 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 01/02/2018
Info Extract Buy

My Story: Suffragette (centenary edition)
Carol Drinkwater
It's 1909. Dollie is swept up in the thrill of the campaign for Votes for Women. Against her guardian's wishes, she marches against Parliament with Emmeline Pankhurst and fellow suffragettes. Things turn violent, women are imprisoned and endanger their lives... Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 01/02/2018
Info Extract Buy

Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator
Roald Dahl
Following on from Charlie's adventures in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Charlie has been given ownership of Wonka's factory, and the Great Glass Elevator is taking Charlie and his family off to claim his prize through the roof of their... Featured in: 7+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 25/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Double Down (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Book 11)
Jeff Kinney
Get ready, Book 11 in the phenomenally bestselling Diary of a Wimpy Kid series is coming! The pressure's really piling up on Greg Heffley. His mom thinks video games are turning his brain to mush, so she wants her son... Featured in: 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 25/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

Wartman 4u2read
Michael Morpurgo
Interest Age 7-12 Reading Age 7 A brand new 4u2read edition celebrating the 20th anniversary of this touching tale by Michael Morpurgo. Dilly's life was great until he found the wart growing on his knee. When lying doesn't work out and... Featured in: 7+ readers | 11+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 15/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

Who's a Big Bully Then?
Michael Morpurgo
Interest Age 8-12 Reading Age 8+. How do you see off the school bully? Sick of being picked on and called ‘chicken' the narrator of this story thinks up a dare to show up Darren Bishop, the school bully. A... Featured in: 7+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 15/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Birthday Surprise
Clara Vulliamy
January 2018 Book of the Month In a nutshell: thoroughly charming mini-mysteries in school and family setting It's no mystery why the Dot McCluskey stories are so popular: Dot is a wonderfully lively central character and her friendly direct-to-reader narratives... Featured in: 7+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 11/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match
Elizabeth Eulberg
In a nutshell: Sherlock Holmes given a clever, lively twist Shelby Holmes is a nine-year old genius with a gift for solving crimes thanks to her extraordinary powers of observation and deduction. In this she's helped by her friend John... Featured in: 9+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 11/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Treehouse Fun Book
Andy Griffiths
The 'Treehouse' series of books by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton reliably provides kids with some of the most inventive, entertaining and deliciously daft reading around, and this new activity book takes the fun on to a different level. Across... Featured in: 7+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 11/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole
Michelle Cuevas
In a nutshell: black holes and family relationships There are two black holes in Stella's life: the first is the one she finds hiding in a cardboard box, names Larry (“short for Singularity, which I'd read is a place of... Featured in: 9+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 11/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

The Same Inside: Poems about Empathy and Friendship
Liz Brownlee, Roger Stevens, Matt Goodfellow
This collection features poems by three of our best-known and best-loved children's poets, Liz Brownlee, Matt Goodfellow and Roger Stevens. Between them, using a range of poetic styles and voices, they cover lots of topics – friendship and togetherness, difference,... Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 11/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedI Swapped My Brother On The Internet
Jo Simmons
In a nutshell: very funny, very true story of family dynamics Be careful what you wish for, and blood is thicker than water – both lessons to be learned from this very funny story of sibling rivalry and love. Jonny... Featured in: 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 11/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

Weirdest Show on Earth
Barry Hutchison
In a nutshell: laugh-out loud adventures with the boy who can't lie Poor Beaky Malone's life was thrown into chaos when an encounter with the mysterious Madame Shirley robbed him of his ability to tell a lie, making school and... Featured in: 9+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 11/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedRadio Boy and the Revenge of Grandad
Christian O'Connell
In a nutshell: tune in for more hilarious radio-show action Christian O'Connell follows up his debut with another laugh-out-loud story starring junior radio DJ Spike. Spike, sidekick Artie and producer Holly are happily broadcasting from Spike's garden shed and have... Featured in: 9+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 11/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

Treasure Hunters: Quest for the City of Gold
James Patterson
The Kidd family discovers an ancient map to the lost Incan City of Paititi. But when the map is stolen, the Kidds have to rely on Storm's picture-perfect memory to navigate the dangerous Amazon jungle - until she's kidnapped! To... Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 11/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

The 1,000-year-old Boy
Ross Welford
The astonishing, beautiful new story for all readers of 10 and over from the bestselling and Costa-shortlisted author of Time Travelling with a Hamster. Featured in: 11+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 11/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

Quests for Glory
Soman Chainani
In a nutshell: ingeniously reworked fairy-tales = irresistible reading Agatha, Tedros and Sophie, stars of Soman Chainani's best-selling fairy-tales-with-a-twist saga, are deservedly hugely popular with readers, who will be riveted by this new chapter. Something is up at the School... Featured in: 11+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 11/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

Sky Chasers
Emma Carroll
January 2018 Book of the Month A prizewinning story idea from Neal Jackson gave birth to this wonderful tale of adventure, spies and man's attempt to be the first aeronaut. Emma Carroll has a wonderful ability to capture a particular... Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 04/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

The Girl Who Saw Lions
Berlie Doherty
A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month January 2018 An eye-opening book, The Girl Who Saw Lions (originally published as Abela) is the touching and profound story of two girls who apparently have nothing in common. The two girls tell... Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 04/01/2018
Info Extract Buy

Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 131 pages in total
Share this page
Fact and fiction make equally good choices as part of a growing reading repertoire.

Whether it’s taking off on a high fantasy where new worlds open up endless possibilities or giving serious consideration of important ecological issues in a light hearted perspective, reading at this stage grows opinions and ideas.

Click here to read some helpful tips from top childrens' publisher Egmont.

You could also check out our latest highlights such as 'new voices', which showcases some of the brightest new talent from Walker Books, or our 'prizewinners' section where we can help you and your child discover authors currently in contention for and/or winners of the most prestigious awards.

****