LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Audiobooks by Brendan Duffy

Browse audiobooks by Brendan Duffy, listen to samples and when you're ready head over to Audiobooks.com where you can get 3 FREE audiobooks on us

LoveReading4Kids Top 10

  1. Aldrin Adams and the Cheese Nightmares Aldrin Adams and the Cheese Nightmares
    1
  2. Big Sky Mountain Big Sky Mountain
    2
  3. The Danger Gang The Danger Gang
    3
  4. How to Be Brave How to Be Brave
    4
  5. Anne of Green Gables Anne of Green Gables
    5
  6. Star Wars The High Republic: A Test of Courage Star Wars The High Republic: A Test of Courage
    6
  7. How I Saved the World in a Week How I Saved the World in a Week
    7
  8. Hide and Secrets: The blockbuster thriller from million-copy bestselling Sophie McKenzie Hide and Secrets: The blockbuster thriller from million-copy bestselling Sophie McKenzie
    8
  9. The Boy in the Black Suit The Boy in the Black Suit
    9
  10. You Are a Champion: How to Be the Best You Can Be You Are a Champion: How to Be the Best You Can Be
    10
Filter
The Storm King

The Storm King

Author: Brendan Duffy Narrator: Jon Lindstrom Release Date: 01/02/2018

"Deeply atmospheric, breathlessly suspenseful, with a ticking clock like no other-a terrific thriller."-Lee Child Haunted by dark secrets and an unsolved mystery, a young doctor returns to his isolated Adirondacks hometown in a tense, gripping novel in the vein of Michael Koryta and Harlan Coben. Burying the past only gives it strength-and fury. Nate McHale has assembled the kind of life most people would envy. After a tumultuous youth marked by his inexplicable survival of a devastating tragedy, Nate left his Adirondack hometown of Greystone Lake and never looked back. Fourteen years later, he's become a respected New York City surgeon, devoted husband, and loving father. Then a body is discovered deep in the forests that surround Greystone Lake. This disturbing news finally draws Nate home. While navigating a tense landscape of secrets and suspicion, resentments and guilt, Nate reconnects with estranged friends and old enemies, and encounters strangers who seem to know impossible things about him. Haunting every moment is the Lake's sinister history and the memory of wild, beautiful Lucy Bennett, with whom Nate is forever linked by shattering loss and youthful passion. As a massive hurricane bears down on the Northeast, the air becomes electric, the clouds grow dark, and escalating acts of violence echo events from Nate's own past. Without a doubt, a reckoning is coming-one that will lay bare the lies that lifelong friends have told themselves and unleash a vengeance that may consume them all. Advance praise for The Storm King "Duffy follows his debut, House of Echoes, with a stunning literary thriller, which combines accomplished wordsmithing with startling twists."-Publishers Weekly (starred review) "An elaborately layered, creepily atmospheric story that blends haunting legends and the psychological terror of a murderer on the hunt. A winning thriller sure to draw readers of Jennifer McMahon, Ruth Ware, and Michael Koryta."-Booklist (starred review)

Show more
House of Echoes: A Novel

House of Echoes: A Novel

Author: Brendan Duffy Narrator: Allyson Ryan, George Newbern Release Date: 01/04/2015

"In this enthralling and atmospheric thriller, one young family’s dream of a better life is about to become a nightmare. Ben and Caroline Tierney and their two young boys are hoping to start over. Ben has hit a dead end with his new novel, Caroline has lost her banking job, and eight-year-old Charlie is being bullied at his Manhattan school. When Ben inherits land in the village of Swannhaven, in a remote corner of upstate New York, the Tierneys believe it’s just the break they need, and they leave behind all they know to restore a sprawling estate. But as Ben uncovers Swannhaven’s chilling secrets and Charlie ventures deeper into the surrounding forest, strange things begin to happen. The Tierneys realize that their new home isn’t the fresh start they needed . . . and that the village’s haunting saga is far from over. House of Echoes is a novel that shows how sometimes the ties that bind us are the only things that can keep us whole. Advance praise for House of Echoes “[Brendan] Duffy walks a fine line between crime and horror, skillfully manipulating the threats of a punishing winter, creepy historic setting, and strange villagers. . . . This unsettling, atmospheric tale is right up the alley of those who enjoyed Jennifer McMahon’s Winter People; and the shared appeal with Stephen King’s The Shining is undeniable.”—Booklist (starred review) “A fluid, suspenseful yet subtle thriller, with touches of humor, evocative writing, and characters that are both familiar and uniquely fascinating. A wonderfully tense and heart-wrenching debut.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “House of Echoes is that rare debut that grabs the reader by the lapels with both hands and never lets go. It’s compelling, brooding, atmospheric, and propulsive—and it accomplishes something frightening and unique: a portrayal of the great outdoors as beautiful, amoral, and claustrophobic at the same time. It will stay with you long after you read the last page, and it may very well haunt your dreams.”—C. J. Box, New York Times bestselling author of Endangered “House of Echoes is dark, emotionally affecting and truly creepy. Brendan Duffy dives straight into the ugly core of small-town America and doesn’t flinch a bit—a fantastic story and a great book.”—Kelly Braffet, author of Save Yourself “House of Echoes is the captivating tale of a bruised family’s escape to their dream house in a bucolic small town, only to find themselves trapped by its dark legends. In this relentlessly chilling story, Brendan Duffy breathes new life into the gothic tradition. Uncanny and hypnotic, it will freeze your heart.”—Keith Donohue, New York Times bestselling author of The Boy Who Drew Monsters “Brendan Duffy’s House of Echoes is one of those wonderful stories that come along only once in a while, a beautifully nuanced and riveting family drama set within a terrifying landscape that has you turning pages long past bedtime. But keep the light burning and read to the end. That’s when you realize you’ve been in the hands of a very clever storyteller, and that what you thought you’d been reading was all along something else.”—Carla Buckley, author of The Deepest Secret"

Show more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×