LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Audiobooks by Kate Leaver

Browse audiobooks by Kate Leaver, listen to samples and when you're ready head over to Audiobooks.com where you can get 3 FREE audiobooks on us

LoveReading4Kids Top 10

  1. The Burpee Bears The Burpee Bears
    1
  2. How Winston Delivered Christmas: A Christmas Story in Twenty-Four-and-a-Half Chapters How Winston Delivered Christmas: A Christmas Story in Twenty-Four-and-a-Half Chapters
    2
  3. The Christmas Carrolls The Christmas Carrolls
    3
  4. The Snowman: Inspired by the original story by Raymond Briggs The Snowman: Inspired by the original story by Raymond Briggs
    4
  5. The Miracle on Ebenezer Street The Miracle on Ebenezer Street
    5
  6. Father Christmas's Fake Beard Father Christmas's Fake Beard
    6
  7. The Midnight Guardians The Midnight Guardians
    7
  8. The Boy Who Made the World Disappear The Boy Who Made the World Disappear
    8
  9. The Fowl Twins The Fowl Twins
    9
  10. When The World Was Ours When The World Was Ours
    10
Filter
The Friendship Cure: Reconnecting in the Modern World

The Friendship Cure: Reconnecting in the Modern World

Author: Kate Leaver Narrator: Candice Moll Release Date: 01/12/2018

The compelling, fresh, and thought-provoking exploration of friendship―what it is, how to keep it, and why we need it more than ever before Our best friends, Twitter followers, gal-pals, bromances, Facebook friends, and long distance buddies define us in ways we rarely openly acknowledge. But as a society, we are simultaneously terrified of being alone and already desperately lonely. We move through life in packs and friendship circles and yet, in the most interconnected age, we are stuck in the greatest loneliness epidemic of our time. It's killing us, making us miserable and causing a public health crisis. Increasingly, we don’t just die alone; we die because we are alone. What if meaningful friendships are the solution? Journalist Kate Leaver believes that friendship is the essential cure for the modern malaise of solitude, ill health, and anxiety and that, if we only treated camaraderie as a social priority, it could affect everything from our physical health and emotional well being. Her much-anticipated manifesto, The Friendship Cure, looks at what friendship means, how it can survive, why we need it, and what we can do to get the most from it. Why do some friendships last a lifetime, while others are only temporary? How do you “break up” with a toxic friend? How do you make friends as an adult? Can men and women really be platonic? What are the curative qualities of friendship, and how we can deploy friendship to actually live longer, better lives? From behavioral scientists to besties, Kate draws upon the extraordinary research from academics, scientists, and psychotherapists, and stories from friends of friends, strangers from the Internet, and her “squad” to get to the bottom of these and other facets of friendship. For readers of Susan Cain’s Quiet and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Big Magic, The Friendship Cure is a fascinating blend of accessible “smart thinking,” investigative journalism, pop culture, and memoir for anyone trying to navigate this lonely world, written with the wit, charm, and bite of a fresh voice.

Show more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×