LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Audiobooks by Tana Wojczuk

Browse audiobooks by Tana Wojczuk, listen to samples and when you're ready head over to Audiobooks.com where you can get 3 FREE audiobooks on us

LoveReading4Kids Top 10

  1. Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made
    1
  2. Peter Pan: Brought to life by magical storytellers Peter Pan: Brought to life by magical storytellers
    2
  3. Code Name Bananas Code Name Bananas
    3
  4. The Explorer The Explorer
    4
  5. The Tower of Nero (The Trials of Apollo Book 5) The Tower of Nero (The Trials of Apollo Book 5)
    5
  6. Kid Normal and the Final Five Kid Normal and the Final Five
    6
  7. Anne of Avonlea Anne of Avonlea
    7
  8. Eragon: Book One Eragon: Book One
    8
  9. White Fang White Fang
    9
  10. Library of Souls: The Third Novel of Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children Library of Souls: The Third Novel of Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children
    10
Filter
Lady Romeo: The Radical and Revolutionary Life of Charlotte Cushman, America's First Celebrity

Lady Romeo: The Radical and Revolutionary Life of Charlotte Cushman, America's First Celebrity

Author: Tana Wojczuk Narrator: Tavia Gilbert Release Date: 01/07/2020

"A lively, illuminating new biography…Wojczuk reveals the force and vitality of this woman, on the stage and off." —Nina MacLaughlin, The Boston Globe "Once the empress of the stage, the indomitable 19th-century superstar Charlotte Cushman has been lost to us. Tana Wojczuk resurrects her here, charisma and originality intact. A brisk, beautifully crafted life of a pioneering actor who—on and off the stage—indeed seems to have been, as Wojczuk puts it, 'a better man than most men.'" —Stacy Schiff, bestselling author of The Witches and Cleopatra For fans of Book of Ages and American Eve, this illuminating and enthralling biography of 19th-century queer actress Charlotte Cushman portrays her radical lifestyle that riveted New York City and made headlines across America. All her life, Charlotte Cushman refused to submit to others' expectations. Raised in Boston at the time of the transcendentalists, a series of disasters cleared the way for her life on the stage—a path she eagerly took, rejecting marriage and creating a life of adventure, playing the role of the hero in and out of the theater as she traveled to New Orleans and New York City, and eventually to London and back to build a successful career. Her Hamlet, Romeo, Lady Macbeth, and Nancy Sykes from Oliver Twist became canon, impressing Louisa May Alcott, who later based a character on her in Jo's Boys, and Walt Whitman, who raved about "the towering grandeur of her genius" in his columns for the Brooklyn Daily Eagle. She acted alongside Edwin and John Wilkes Booth—supposedly giving the latter a scar on his neck that was later used to identify him as President Lincoln's assassin—and visited frequently with the Great Emancipator himself, who was a devoted Shakespeare fan and admirer of Cushman's work. Her wife immortalized her in the angel at the top of Central Park's Bethesda Fountain; worldwide, she was "a lady universally acknowledged as the greatest living tragic actress." Behind the scenes, she was equally radical, making an independent income, supporting her family, creating one of the first bohemian artists' colonies abroad, and living publicly as a queer woman. And yet, her name has since faded into the shadows. Now, her story comes to brilliant life with Tana Wojczuk's Lady Romeo, an exhilarating and enlightening biography of the 19th-century trailblazer. With new research and rarely seen letters and documents, Wojczuk reconstructs the formative years of Cushman's life, set against the excitement and drama of 1800s New York City and featuring a cast of luminaries and revolutionaries who changed the cultural landscape of America forever. The story of an astonishing and uniquely American life, Lady Romeo reveals one of the most remarkable forgotten figures in our history and restores her to center stage, where she belongs.

Show more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×