LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Oisin Mcgann - Author

About the Author

Oisin Mcgann was born in Dublin in 1973, Oisin spent his childhood there and in Drogheda, County Louth. He started writing and illustrating stories in copybooks when he was about six or seven, setting himself on a path that would steer him well clear of ever obtaining a proper job.

Despite his writing habit, he spent most of school convinced he was going to become a zoologist, an aspiration he lost after taking his first art exam in third year of secondary school. Unable to conceive of a way to make a living from writing fiction, he decided to fund his dreams of being an author by working as an illustrator. He signed up for a design and print foundation course in Ballyfermot Senior College, Dublin, in 1990 and then studied animation at Dun Laoghaire School of Art and Design.

In 1992 he dropped out of college to set himself up as a freelance illustrator/artist, serving the publishing and design industries. In 1997, he took up a position as Background Layout Designer for Fred Wolf films, working on the animated series of Zorro. After completing his contract, he decided to expand his horizons and left for London in February 1998 to seek his fortune. He found gainful employment as a security guard, watching over trains and then hospitals.

In January 1999, he joined a small advertising and design consultancy as art director and soon expanded into copy writing. After three and a half years of working in advertising he became increasingly concerned for his immortal soul. He returned to Ireland much as he had left - with no job, no home and some meagre savings. Ever the optimist, he now works once more as a freelance illustrator and mercenary artist by day and escapist writer by night. He hopes one day to have a decent job, with a pension, a health plan and paid annual holidays.

Featured books by Oisin Mcgann

Other books by Oisin Mcgann

Across the Cold Ground: Beyond the Stars

Across the Cold Ground: Beyond the Stars

Author: Oisin Mcgann Format: eBook Release Date: 09/10/2014

A moving short story from the collection, BEYOND THE STARS, written and illustrated by a great Irish talent in children's fiction todayWhen his brother goes missing in action, Charley knows he has a duty to enlist for the army himself. Soon dispatched to the Somme, he and his comrades are far from home and living in fear of a faceless enemy. Cold and wet, letters from their loved ones in Ireland and well-meaning banter with each other are the only things that keep the soldiers going. But just at the moment the troops are given the command to go 'over the top' and cross no-man's-land to face the enemy, Charley realises the precious letter from home that he's been saving to read could have been about his brother and that maybe he should have read it after all. Terrified, Charley knows that whatever decision he makes at that moment could change his life for ever...A moving and affecting tale, brought to life by evocative illustrations.Look out for the other eleven stories - also available as e-shorts!

Kings of the Realm: Cruel Salvation (Book 2)

Kings of the Realm: Cruel Salvation (Book 2)

Author: Oisin Mcgann Format: eBook Release Date: 04/09/2014

Cruel Salvation is the second book in the epic fantasy series that ties in with the groundbreaking global online strategy game Kings of the Realm.Following the devastation of War's Harvest, where The Devourers ravaged the continent, relentlessly destroying and growing in numbers - Vallen Warnock, Kaydi, Tolka, Squall, Grutt and a few other survivors have escaped across the sea to Vinland. Cruel Salvation follows the first landings of the new-settlers as they rebuild their lives in a new world, filled with new dangers. Allies and enemies are thrown together in a bid to survive and create a new way of life. The gruelling journey has left many dead, while others are starving and weak, but some are hungry for power . . .Cruel Salvation delves deeper into the world of Kings of the Realm, revealing more of the exhilarating conflict, betrayal and hope that has consumed players and readers alike.*** Based on the massive multiplayer (MMO) fantasy strategy game Kings of the Realm. For the first time in gaming history, gamers can engage seamlessly on any internet device.*** *** Already a #1 on independent game watchlists, Kings of the Realm is building an avid online following.******The books give players a closer view of the game world and contain exclusive clues and insights of how the gameplay operates. Key characters and objects in Cruel Salvation will be available as playable items in the game.*******The epic adventure continues, set in the world of online gameplay. Cruel Salvation features real players as part of the story and the action takes place on maps and locations that appear in-game, creating a fully interactive reading and playing opportunity for gamers******Perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones, David Gemmell, Robert Jordan and MMO games such as Civilization V, World of Warcraft andWarhammer Online.******Written by the bestselling and award-winning author Oisin McGann***Also Available:Kings of the Realm: War's HarvestAbout the author:Ois n McGann is a full-time author and illustrator. He has written and illustrated over twenty-five books for all ages of reader, in genres ranging from science fiction to fantasy, from comedy horror to conspiracy thriller. He is married with three children, a dog and a cat. Ois n now lives somewhere in the Irish countryside, where he won't be heard shouting at his computer.

Kings of the Realm: Ernte des Krieges

Kings of the Realm: Ernte des Krieges

Author: Oisin Mcgann Format: eBook Release Date: 24/08/2014

Sie haben die Saat des Krieges gestreut, doch sie werden sie nicht ernten ... Auf der Suche nach Unsterblichkeit offnet eine Gruppe von Trinity-Veteranen, angefuhrt von dem legendaren Kreuzritter Giddion Warnock, ein langst vergessenes Grab in der Ebene von Ahten. Doch statt ewigem Leben finden sie nur eine uralte und unersattliche Macht des Bosen. Einzig Vallen, Giddions jungerer Bruder, entkommt dem Grab und eilt nun durch die Welt, um vor den erbarmungslosen Verschlingern zu warnen, die entfesselt wurden. Doch wird ihm jemand Glauben schenken und an seiner Seite den Kampf gegen das Schicksal aufnehmen? Tolka, ein Botschafter der Himmlischen, Bo eine Kriegerin der Erdklans und Seliza, eine Salamanderhexe, schlieen sich Vallens Kampf an, wahrend sie Allianzen brechen, Bundnisse schmieden und mitansehen mussen, wie ihre Heimat in den Abgrund gerissen wird ... Ein Roman um Intrigen, Verrat und Rittertum. Basierend auf dem Online-Game von Digit Game Studios

Kings of the Realm: War's Harvest (Book 1)

Kings of the Realm: War's Harvest (Book 1)

Author: Oisin Mcgann Format: eBook Release Date: 29/05/2014

The first book in an epic fantasy tie-in series for the global release of the online strategy game Kings of the Realm.They've sown the seeds of war, but they won't reap the harvest . . . Chasing immortality, a group of Trinity veterans - led by the famous Giddion Warnock - open a long-forgotten tomb in the plain of Ahten, releasing an ancient and hungry evil. Vallen, Giddion's younger brother, escapes the tomb and races across the realm to warn of the world-destroying Devourers that have been unleashed. But will anyone believe him?War's Harvest follows Vallen and the fortunes of those of he meets across the continent - from Tolka, a Celestial ambassador to Squall, an Earth Clan warrior and Seliza, a Salamander witch - as they betray allegiances, forge alliances and watch their homelands destroyed. Exciting and fast paced, War's Harvest provides an engrossing history to the vivid world that Kings of the Ream players experience online.*** Based on the massive multiplayer (MMO) fantasy strategy game Kings of the Realm. For the first time in gaming history, gamers can engage seamlessly on any internet device.*** *** Already a #1 on independent game watchlists, Kings of the Realm has begun to build an avid online following.******This book gives players a closer view of the world, with an epic adventure set immediately before online gameplay begins.******Contains exclusive clues and insights for players of how the gameplay operates. Key characters and objects in War's' Harvest will be available as playable items in the game.******Perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones, David Gemmell, Robert Jordan and MMO games such as Civilization V, World of Warcraft andWarhammer Online.******Future books will feature real players as part of the story, creating a fully interactive reading and playing opportunity for gamers.***About the Author:Ois n McGann is a full-time author and illustrator. He has written and illustrated over twenty-five books for all ages of reader, in genres ranging from science fiction to fantasy, from comedy horror to conspiracy thriller. He is married with three children, a dog and a cat. Ois n now lives somewhere in the Irish countryside, where he won't be heard shouting at his computer.*Dont miss Kings of the Realm: Cruel Salvation, the second novel in the series , coming in 2014.*

The Goblin of Tara

The Goblin of Tara

Author: Oisin Mcgann Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/06/2013

Every Halloween a Goblin creeps through from the otherworld, bringing death and destruction upon the people of Tara, and every year the most fearless warriors of the village try to defeat him - and fail. But this year, a new hero has stepped up to the challenge - Thrilling mythical tale. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers of 8+

Gods and Their Machines

Gods and Their Machines

Author: Oisin Mcgann Format: eBook Release Date: 01/11/2004

The Gods and Their Machines marks the debut of a compelling new voice in science fiction and fantasy, set in a world that bears a disturbing resemblance to the Middle East and the conflict between Israel and Palestine. To the scientifically advanced people of Altima, the primitive "e;Fringelanders"e; of Bartokhrin are superstitious barbarians and terrorists. Their suicide warriors carry dark magic into the heart of the Altiman cities, killing innocent civilians. To the people of Bartokhrin, the Altimans are godless conquerors and oppressors, who bomb their town and villages from their high-flying aeroplanes. They revere the Blessed martyrs who carry the battle back to the Altimans.Chamus Aranson is a young Altiman student, training to be a fighter pilot in his nation's air force. Riadni Mocranen is a rebellious Bartokhrian tomboy, who dreams of joining the heroic freedom fighters in their crusade against Altima. Chamus and Riadni come from two completely different worlds, but when Chamus is forced to make and emergency landing deep in enemy country, Riadni becomes his only hope for survival. Now they must work together to stop an unimaginable catastrophe from setting both their worlds on fire.At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.oisinmcgann.com/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×