Morag Hood - Author

About the Author

Morag Hood has a unique voice. Her idiosyncratic, wry humour permeates everything she does, creating books of style and irresistible charm. Colin and Lee, Carrot and Pea was a runner-up in The Macmillan Prize for Illustration, marking a glorious picture book debut. Morag spent her childhood writing stories, painting, and dreaming of having a pet duck. Following a degree in Costume Design from Wimbledon College of Art, and an MA in Children's Book Illustration from the Cambridge School of Art, Morag returned to live in her native Edinburgh with her husband. She still likes making stories, printing, cutting and sticking, and freshly sharpened pencils. The pet duck is yet to make an appearance.

Featured books by Morag Hood

Other books by Morag Hood

The Steves

The Steves

Author: Morag Hood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/03/2019

A brilliantly funny and brightly colourful story perfect for Steves everywhere, and for fans of Oi Frog! and Ed Vere. When Steve meets Steve, neither can believe it. Surely one of them must be the first Steve, the best Steve, the Stevest Steve . . . The claims of each puffin become sillier and sillier as the argument descends into name-calling - until both Steves realize there's really no need to fall out over a name. The feuding puffins perfectly reflect the sort of silly arguments children have - and The Steves shows just how pointless they are. The bold, brilliantly coloured, graphic illustrations will have you laughing out loud in this glorious book from Morag Hood, creator of the hilarious Colin and Lee, Carrot and Pea, I Am Bat, and Aalfred and Aalbert.

Aalfred and Aalbert

Aalfred and Aalbert

Author: Morag Hood Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/01/2019

An aadorable love story between aardvarks: the perfect Valentine's Day gift for fans of Ed Vere and Nadia Shireen. Aardvarks Aalfred and Aalbert both need a pal. But Aalfred sleeps in the day, and Aalbert sleeps at night. How will they ever get the chance to meet? Bird conjures up a series of sillier and sillier schemes to get the two aardvarks into the same place, but their paths simply refuse to cross. Until one day, when they find each other in the most unexpected way - and now Aalfred and Aalbert will never lose each other again. Aalfred and Aalbert is as funny and memorable as Morag Hood's previous books, Colin and Lee, Carrot and Pea, I Am Bat and The Steves. With its sweet and natural portrayal of love accidentally blooming between two aardvarks, it will make a brilliant gift for Valentine's Day.

Colin and Lee, Carrot and Pea

Colin and Lee, Carrot and Pea

Author: Morag Hood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/01/2019

A fantastically funny story that appeals to children of all ages - and makes adults laugh out loud, with the bold simplicity of Herve Tullet or Dick Bruna's Miffy. very funny, very cute Guardian Made using a collage of supermarket carrier bags, Colin and Lee, Carrot and Pea is an irresistible story about empathy, diversity, and the joy of making friends with people (or vegetables) who are different from you. Boys and girls alike will love Colin and Lee's clear shapes, bright colours and the playful approach to everyday objects that make this book an instant favourite. This paperback edition is satisfyingly large, with shiny, textured peas on the cover! Winner: UK Literacy Association Award 2018 An EmpathyLab Read for Empathy book 2018

Sophie Johnson: Unicorn Expert

Sophie Johnson: Unicorn Expert

Author: Morag Hood Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/04/2018

Are you a unicorn expert? Then meet Sophie Johnson... you have a lot in common! Sophie Johnson is an endearing new picture book character, who is just bursting with information and knowledge that she is keen to pass on. She's a self-confessed unicorn expert (among other things) and has dressed up her toys and pets with their own unique horns. Strange then, that she doesn't seem to notice the real unicorn who has come into her house... A wonderfully humorous story, from a new picture book dream-team, Morag Hood and Ella Okstad about a unicorn hiding in plain sight and a little girl who is totally oblivious to his presence! Ideal for fans of unicorns, rainbows and magic everywhere! 'Sophie is a wonderfully endearing character with whom children (and adults) will fall in love, despite the mayhem she causes. Glorious illustrations capture the chaos and fun of this hilarious story to perfection.' Parents in Touch

Sara Jones, Arbenigwr Uncyrn / Sara Jones, Unicorn Expert

Sara Jones, Arbenigwr Uncyrn / Sara Jones, Unicorn Expert

Author: Morag Hood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/02/2018

Colin and Lee, Carrot and Pea

Colin and Lee, Carrot and Pea

Author: Morag Hood Format: Board book Release Date: 26/01/2017

Lee is a pea. All of his friends are peas; except Colin. Colin isn't a pea. And so begins the deliciously funny story of two very different friends: a small green pea and a tall orange carrot stick. Colin the carrot can't do everything the peas can, but he has some special carrot-y qualities that make him a very good friend to have. All about the beauty of making friends with people (or vegetables) who are different from you, boys and girls alike will love Colin and Lee's clear shapes, bright colours and the playful approach to everyday objects that make this book an instant favourite. Enjoy in this lovely and durable hardback board book. Made using just a collage of supermarket plastic bags and painted facial expressions, Morag Hood has created a timeless picture book with unique and engaging artwork that is brimming with warmth and humour. With the bold simplicity of Herve Tullet or Dick Bruna's Miffy, and a dry wit and charm all of Morag's own, it is a fantastically funny story that appeals to the very youngest child - and makes adults laugh out loud. Colin and Lee, Carrot and Pea is a brilliant debut from Morag Hood, runner-up in The Macmillan Prize for Illustration.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.moraghood.co.uk/

Author's Facebook

Find Morag Hood on Facebook

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×