LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Guy Bass - Author

About the Author

Guy Bass on his recent novel for reluctant and struggling reads Noah Scape:
 

1. Can you describe Noah Scape Can't Stop Repeating Himself in 5 words?

When Noah doubles there's trouble. 
When Noah doubles there's trouble. 
When Noah doubles there's trouble. 
When Noah doubles there's trouble. 
When Noah doubles there's trouble.

2. What was the inspiration for writing the book?

The name was the starting point. I wanted to write a "be careful what you wish for" story, with Noah deliberately deciding to start doubling but it soon spirals out of control to become a situation he can't escape. There is something appealing about the idea of there being one more of you, or four of you, or eight, or a hundred ... but when everyone's the same, it's a sadder world. At the beginning of the story, Noah's so set in his ways that he rejects other people's ideas and opinions but the more he duplicates, the more he realises that difference makes life interesting. Difference and dinosaurs.

3. You could say that Noah is a bit of a difficult student... What were you like at school? Were you as demanding as Noah?

I wish I had been - demanding, not difficult. I was really quiet at school. So quiet that I'm pretty sure I could have turned invisible and I pretty sure no one would have noticed. Which is just one of the two hundred super powers I wished I'd had as a child. I spent every school assembly daydreaming about floating into the air and out of the window. My memory's hazy but i'm almost convinced it never actually happened.

4. We love Steve's artwork and he's said he just might have broken the record for drawing the same character again and again and again! What version of Noah is your favourite?

It's an impressive record! My favourite's one of the (many) Noahs on page 51. He's far off in the background, holding a balloon and looking strangely sinister. Thanks to horror films it's now impossible to hold a balloon and not look evil.

5. Noah loves nothing more than talking about dinosaurs and eating spaghetti with tomato sauce. What two things do you wish everyone loved as much as you do?

Comic books and cheese fondue.

6. Finally, we'd love to see the spot where all your characters come to life. Can you show us a picture of where you write?

Guy Bass in his office

 

I should point out that my main problem with writing books is the isolation. As you can see, I found a solution - you're never alone with a thousand lifeless painted eyes staring down at you. Oddly, the toys on my shelves seem to have doubled recently. Maybe that's where the real inspiration for Noah Scape came from.

Photo credit Elizabeth Gibson

Books by Guy Bass

Skeleton Keys: The Unimaginary Friend

Skeleton Keys: The Unimaginary Friend

Author: Guy Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Greetings! To the imaginary and the unimaginary! To the living, the dead and everyone in between, my name is Keys... Skeleton Keys. And these fantabulant fingers of mine can open doors to hidden worlds and secret places ... doors to the limitless realm of all the imagination. Ben can't believe it when his imaginary friend the Gorblimey becomes unimaginary. The Gorblimey is loyal and kind ... and real! But Skeleton Keys is far from convinced by the Gorblimey's friendly ways. He's got the twitch, which is (almost) never wrong, and it's telling him the Gorblimey is dangerous and needs banishing to the endless void of Oblivion. To send him packing, all he needs to do is open the door with his key-shaped bony finger ... and order will be restored. But as Ben battles to save his new friend from Oblivion, the Gorblimey is soon the least of Skeleton Keys' worries. For strange things happen when imaginations run wild and it seems that there's more than one unimaginary in town. And the other unimaginary is definitely dangerous and out for revenge... The first book in a darkly comic new series from the award-winning duo behind STITCH HEAD. Perfect for fans of THE NOTHING TO SEE HERE HOTEL, IGUANA BOY and MAUDLIN TOWERS.

No More Mr Nice Spy

No More Mr Nice Spy

Author: Guy Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/06/2018

From a land before time comes a hero for today ... Spynosaur - he's going to make crime extinct! A hilarious new series from award-winning author Guy Bass, perfect for fans of MY BROTHER IS A SUPERHERO, THE ASTOUNDING BROCCOLI BOY, DARKMOUTH and HAMISH AND THE WORLDSTOPPERS. When Spynosaur is accused of eating the princess of Canada's prized pet, Pugsy Malone, he has his Right to Spy revoked! Facing imprisonment in Department 6's inescapable prison, The Bin, Spynosaur goes rogue. Together with his sidekick, Amber, Spynosaur is pursued across the globe by his former fellow agents, including Danger Monkey, Dr Newfangle, and expert tracker Jet Setter. Convinced he's been framed, Spynosaur goes looking for the one villain capable such a diabolical deed, his arch enemy, Ergo Ego. But without his gadgets and equipment, and with the full force of Department 6 bearing down on him, can our hero evade capture long enough to clear his name? There's only one villain who could have pulled off such a diabolical deception and there's only one way to discover the truth... It's time to get himself captured. Lurking within the Bin, Department 6's inescapable prison, is Spynosaur's arch-enemy, Ergo Ego ... but does he have the answers Spynosaur's looking for ... and is he willing to spill the beans?

Goldenclaw

Goldenclaw

Author: Guy Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/03/2017

From a land before time comes a hero for today ... Spynosaur - he's going to make crime extinct! A hilarious new series from award-winning author Guy Bass, perfect for fans of My Brother is a Superhero, The Astounding Broccoli Boy, Darkmouth and Hamish and the Worldstoppers. When Spynosaur locks up the last of the world's worst criminal masterminds, all that's left are a string of disappointingly undemanding novelty villains. With no one worthy of his super-spy skills, Amber's worried that Spynosaur might give up spying altogether. Even Goldentoe, their last hope of a dastardly villain, admits to only pretending to be evil to win the heart of Shady Lady. Frantic that her dad has lost the will to spy, Amber convinces Goldentoe to make himself a more desirably dangerous suitor. With the help of the Science Ray and a sample of Spynosaur's DNA, Goldentoe transforms himself into Goldenclaw, a formidable half-man, half dinosaur far more powerful than Spynosaur, and intent on a spot of world-ending asteroid flinging...

The Mighty Frog

The Mighty Frog

Author: Guy Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/02/2015

Everyone's favourite frog has already saved the world TWICE with his incredible mightiness. Now it's the ultimate test of wills as Frog and his friends take to the skies to fight the bad-tempered extra-terrestrial Kroakan army ... hold on to your seats! Praise for The Legend of Frog: `An awesome adventure just waiting to be made into a film!' Creative Steps

The Vengeance of Vinister Vile

The Vengeance of Vinister Vile

Author: Guy Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/02/2012

It's not easy being the son of a superhero! Jonny and Tommy Atomic are not like ordinary boys. Their dad is the most famous superhero in the world - making them pretty super too. That doesn't mean they don't have to go to school or tidy their room though. And they're definitely not allowed to use their powers or tell anyone their real identities...But while their dad is busy saving the world, again, no one realizes arch enemy Vinister Vile has a dastardly plan - can Jonny and Tommy stop him in time.

Dinkin Dings and the Curse of Clawfingers

Dinkin Dings and the Curse of Clawfingers

Author: Guy Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/09/2009

Dinkin Dings is afraid of everything - not just scary things, like being stuck in a lift with a hungry jaguar, but pretty much totally everything (apart from the monsters under his bed)! Dinkin has made a big mistake - he's created an invention of such mind-boggling anti-everythingness that it's far too terrifying to use and must be destroyed at once. But before he can get rid of it, the Anti-Everything Machine is stolen. Can Dinkin and the Frightening Things find the thief and save themselves from a fate worse than terror?

Dinkin Dings

Dinkin Dings

Author: Guy Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2009

Dinkin Dings is afraid of everything - not just scary things, like being stuck in a lift with a hungry jaguar, but pretty much totally everything (apart from the monsters under his bed)!Dinkin can't believe it when he mistakenly eats fishfingers for dinner - they're the fingers of Fish-Men and the scariest food ever! Dinkin knows that the Fish-Men are plotting their revenge on everyone who eats their fingers and it won't be long before they come after him...but no one believes him...!

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.guybass.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Guy Bass on Facebook
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×