Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Almond, Rosen and Ness nominated for Astrid Lindgren award

By PeterC on 21st October 2014

UK authors David Almond, Michael Rosen and Patrick Ness, alongside specialist children’s bookshop Letterbox Library, are among a total of 197 candidates nominated for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) 2015.

The names were announced 9 October at the International Frankfurt Book Fair by ALMA chair Boel Westin.

Candidates come from all over the world. As well as Almond, Rosen and Ness, the nominated UK authors are Allan Ahlberg, Raymond Briggs, Melvin Burgess, Aidan Chambers, Susan Cooper, Michael Foreman, Neil Gaiman, Maurice GleitzmanShirley Hughes, Michael Morpurgo and Meg Rosoff.

Aidan and Nancy Chambers and Margaret Meek Spencer were nominated for their work in promoting children’s reading, and Letterbox Library was shortlisted for its work in championing diversity in children’s literature.

The SEK 5 million (£431,000) award is made every year for a long-term commitment to children’s literature and is in honour of Astrid Lindgren, the Swedish author of Pippi Longstocking who died in 2002.

Westin, the incoming chair of the ALMA jury said “I am so excited to be taking charge of the jury’s activities. We are all looking forward to learning more about the works and accomplishments of the nominees.”

The list includes 50 first-time nominees among a total of 197 candidates from 61 countries.

The 2015 laureate will be announced on 31 March 2015.

Click here to see the full list of nominees here.

Comments (0)

Leave A Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.