LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Littlest Yak wins Book of the Year at Sainsbury’s Children’s Book Awards 2021

The Littlest Yak, written by Lu Fraser and illustrated by Kate Hindley, has been awarded Book of the Year at the Sainsbury’s Children’s Book Awards 2021. The awards, sponsored by BookTrust, were created to celebrate the best children’s books that families can share together. The Littlest Yak won the Picture Book category before taking the overall prize.

When LoveReading4Kids reviewed this book on publication in September 2020 we commented: "Perfect for fans of Rachel Bright and Julia Donaldson, The Littlest Yak is joyous, rhyming caper that teaches little ones to celebrate their own unique talents! A rollicking, heartwarming and reassuring story from debut author, Lu Fraser and much-loved illustrator, Kate Hindley."

Danika Cave, books buyer for Sainsbury’s, said of the win: "The Littlest Yak is a heartwarming tale filled with hope. Lu Fraser’s beautiful rhyming text is brought to life by Kate Hindley’s captivating and accessible illustrations. The message to children of enjoying your childhood and not rushing to grow up is approached delicately and we’re sure both parents and their little ones will want to read this lovely book again and again."

Simon & Schuster Children's MD Rachel Denwood said: "We are so incredibly proud and delighted to see The Littlest Yak recognised with this award. We always knew it was going to be a special book but knowing that families across the UK will be falling in love with little Gertie is absolutely wonderful."

The other category winners included

Let's Go for a Walk by Ranger Hamza for Activity Book category

Sometimes Babies by Charlotte Trounce for the Baby & Toddler category

Minecraft Epic Basesby Mojang A B (Egmont) for the Licensed Book category

Twitch by M G Leonard for the Fiction category

You Are a Champion by Marcus Rashford and Carl Anka for the Learning & Development category

Fox's Socks by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler for the Children's Classic category 

Sainsbury’s stores across the UK will feature the winning titles, with point of sale installations on display from 16th September.

Comments (0)


Leave A Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×