Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Designing a book cover for arresting debut novel: an Art Director's view...

By Charlotte Carus on 10th February 2018

When a very special teen/YA debut novel, She, Myself  and I (#SheMyselfAndI) by Emma Young (@EmmaELYoung) came in to Little Tiger Press, the art director Paul Coomey (@MrCoomey) knew he needed a cover artist who was adept at combining a complex narrative in an arresting visual.  Levente Szabo (@briskartist) was the first person he and the team at Little Tiger thought of and luckily, Levente was available to take on the project.  We gave him free rein to apply his technique of overlapping and merging illustrations to the intertwined stories of Rosa and Sylvia. Levente’s initial ideas were promising and thought provoking: The idea of Sylvia falling through the ice led us to further explore the relationship of what this evokes to Rosa’s journey to finding her identity. Levante pushed this idea in a further series of concepts: He then built on these and explored different colourways: Which led us to our final cover!     She, Myself and I is published on 8th March 2018. It is a very special debut novel for teens/YAs and perfect for fans of  The Art of Being Normal, Extraordinary Means and Faceless  

Comments (0)


Leave A Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×