Children's Book Award 2017

Chosen entirely by children, the shortlist for the Children's Book Award 2017 has just been announced! The books are divided into 3 age ranges and all are listed below. Who will you vote for?

Books for Younger Children

Books for Younger Readers

Books for Older Readers

Books for Younger Children

Books for Younger Readers

Books for Older Readers

The Children's Book Award is now in its 37th year and is owned and run by the Federation of Children's Book Groups, a charity set up by Anne Wood. The Awards were founded by author and librarian Pat Thompson to celebrate the books that children themselves were reading. (They were known as the Red House Children’s Book Award during the 14 years of The Book People’s sponsorship). This years titles were chosen by children from across the country who read and voted for the books at events organised by the FCBG.

It has brought acclaim and strong sales to past winners such as J.K. Rowling, Patrick Ness, Andy Stanton, Malorie Blackman, Anthony Horowitz and Michael Morpurgo, who has won a record three times. The award has often been the first to recognise the future stars of children’s fiction and has the ability to turn popular authors into bestsellers.

Any child or young person across the UK can participate and the voting decides the selection of the Category Winners and Overall Winner. 

Vote online here -

The deadline for online voting is 12.00 Friday 12th May.

You can download a poster with the ten shortlisted books here.


Julia Miller, Children’s Book Award Coordinator says ‘Selecting our Top Ten is the start of an exciting countdown towards our Winners for 2017. We congratulate all our Top Ten authors and illustrators and can’t wait to find out who is the children’s choice this year.’

The winner of the Children's Book Award 2016, which also topped the Books for Younger Readers category, was My Head Teacher is a Vampire Rat by Pamela Butchart and Thomas Flintham.


The 2017 winners will be announced at a glittering awards ceremony which takes place in Central London Saturday 10th June 2017. The overall winner is awarded the Children's Book Award Silver Tree.  

For more information visit and to see updates, you can follow on twitter @CBACoordinator  #FBCGCBA17 or visit the Children's Book Award facebook page.

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.