Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Klaus Flugge Prize 2020

Klaus Flugge Prize 2020

Congratulations to Eva Eland winning the Klaus Flugge prize 2020 with her beautiful picture book, When Sadness Comes to Call. Established in 2016, the Klaus Flugge Prize is awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s book illustration. It honours publisher Klaus Flugge, founder of children’s publisher Andersen Press and a supremely influential figure in picture books.

2020 Shortlisted Titles

Winner: When Sadness Comes to Call

The Klaus Flugge Prize for most exciting newcomer to children’s picture book illustration awarded to Eva Eland for When Sadness Comes to Call.

When Sadness Comes to Call by Eva Eland wins the Klaus Flugge Prize. Judge, Jessica Love says: “This book is profound in its simplicity. There isn't a single line that Eva Eland puts down that doesn't tell the truth. Perfect.”

On receiving the prize, Eva Eland said: “When Sadness Comes to Call started as a personal exploration of difficult emotions in images and text during my studies at the MA Children’s Book Illustration in Cambridge and when I took my first version of this book to the Children’s Book Fair in Bologna, displayed on the stand of the Cambridge School of Art, I thought I had made something very peculiar and niche and had very little expectations of getting any serious interest. So when Andersen Press approached me and wanted to publish the book, I could hardly believe it. I didn’t think I was ready at all to publish my debut book as I was still studying and learning a lot, but I was gently reminded by my tutors that this was a great opportunity I shouldn’t let pass - and working with my publisher has been a wonderful, uplifting experience. To be shortlisted for the Klaus Flugge Prize was such a delightful surprise and a huge honour, and now I’ve learned I won the award as well! It’s very encouraging to receive recognition like this and it will also help me to dedicate more resources to developing my work further. And I can’t help but smile at the fact that this often unwanted guest, called sadness, is now finding its way and being welcomed by so many more people and children, with a little help from my book and the Klaus Flugge Prize.”


When Sadness Comes to Call, Eva Eland, editor Libby Hamilton, designer Rebecca Garrill (Andersen Press)

Highly Commended;

On the Origin of Species, Sabina Radeva, editor Anna Barnes Robinson, designer Keren Greenfeld (Puffin)

And the shortlist was;

The Star in the Forest, Helen Kellock, editor Anna Ridley, designer Aaron Hayden (Thames & Hudson)

Where is Your Sister?, Puck Koper, editor Suzanne Carnell, designer Jo Spooner (Two Hoots)

One Fox: A Counting Thriller Book, Kate Read, editor Suzanne Carnell, designer Jo Spooner

Julia Eccleshare, Chair of the Judges, said: “The Klaus Flugge Prize puts picture book illustration and illustrators into the spotlight and, in its fifth year, we were particularly excited by the standard of books submitted and by the talent and ambition demonstrated by the shortlisted illustrators. When Sadness Comes to Call stands out, however.  It is very much a book for today when so many children will be experiencing sadness, struggling to understand why and how to express themselves. Yet it also has the makings of a classic, a perfect meeting of intention and delivery, and an example of how much picture books can do. We are also delighted to highlight On the Origin of Species, another outstanding picture book and a very different example of how illustration can successfully convey complex ideas clearly and with beauty.” 

The Klaus Flugge Prize was founded to honour publisher Klaus Flugge, a supremely influential figure in picture books, who this year celebrates the 42nd anniversary of his publishing house Andersen Press. Klaus Flugge discovered and nurtured many of today's most distinguished illustrators including Chris Riddell, fellow judge Tony Ross, and David McKee, creator of Elmer the Elephant.

The judges for the 2020 prize were:

Mini Grey, award-winning illustrator

Jessica Love, 2019 Klaus Flugge Prize winner

Meera Ghanshamdas, bookseller at Moon Lane Ink

Jake Hope, children’s book consultant

Pam Smy of Anglia Ruskin University, 

The panel is chaired by our own LoveReading4Kids expert reviewer, Julia Eccleshare.

The winner of the Klaus Flugge Prize in 2019 was Julian is a Mermaid by Jessica Love (Walker Books) : a joyful, positive story that adroitly questions gender stereotypes, it has been described as barrier-breaking and was also shortlisted for the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal.

Klaus Flugge judge, former Children’s Laureate and multi-award-winning illustrator Anthony Browne said: “Julian is a Mermaid is an astonishingly beautiful book. It’s amazing to realise this is Jessica Love’s first attempt. She has quickly realised how picture books work - the understated words fit so brilliantly with the stunning illustrations, never getting in the way, never trying to do the same job. It’s a perfect picture book.”

The winner was revealed in an online ceremony on Wednesday 16th September 2020 and Eva received a cheque for £5,000.

Find more information