The Dollmaker of Krakow

Written by R. M. Romero

Debuts of the Month Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Historical Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on The Dollmaker of Krakow

In a Nutshell: An enchantingly heartrending conjuration that weaves folklore magic with the darkness of Nazi-occupied Poland

October 2018 Debut of the Month |

Karolina is a living doll who’s been transported from the Land of the Dolls on a “kind wind” following a cruel war with the rats. She wakes “in her new world with a glass heart”, in the workshop of a dollmaker in Krakow, Poland. When Karolina speaks to him, the Dollmaker is certain that he’s lost his mind. He made her, after all, “and I can’t make something that comes to life,” he reasons. But Karolina explains that “gardeners do it all the time with flowers”.

Through shimmering, lyrical language, and Karolina’s consummate compassion, we are witness to a transformation in the crotchety widower Dollmaker. He begins to smile, to make friends, to feel light and hope. And then, when darkness descends on their city in the form of the Nazis, together they must use their newfound magic to save their friends, no matter what. The author does not shirk from relating the brutal realities of the Jewish experience in Nazi-occupied Poland, yet the overriding message is one of hope and love, and the wondrousness of acts of kindness. This is a sublimely big-souled book, with an exquisite ambiance of timelessness.

Joanne Owen

The Dollmaker of Krakow Synopsis

A timeless fantasy set in the Second World War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom.

One night a little doll named Karolina comes to life in a toyshop in Krakow, Poland, in 1939 and changes the life of the gruff, broken-hearted Dollmaker. And when the darkness of the Nazi occupation sweeps over the city, Karolina and the Dollmaker must bravely use their magic to save their Jewish friends from a terrible danger, no matter what the risks. This powerful story is about finding friendship in the darkest of places and the importance of love in times of great pain.

The Dollmaker of Krakow Press Reviews

R. M. Romero's unique tale already feels like it could be a future children's classic [...] Delicately written and complemented by stunning, timeless illustrations from Lisa Perrin, The Dollmaker of Krakow is an astonishing debut novel that will have a lasting impact on everyone who reads it.   BookTrust

[...] remarkable debut [...] fabulous fable [...] The book is beautifully produced in hardback form, with Hans Christian Andersen-style silhouette paper cut-outs lining each page.   The Irish Times

This is a beautiful story about the power of friendship and magic, even in the very darkest of times.  The Week Junior

The story between these pages is as beautiful and complex as its cover and illustrations. A real treat for both young readers and adults.    albainbookland.com

If you loved this, you might like these...

Max Einstein: The Genius Experiment
Snowglobe
The Way Past Winter
The Silk Roads A New History of the World - Illustrated Edition

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406379822
Publication date: 06/09/2018
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781406375633
Publication date: 05/10/2017
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406379822
Publication date: 6th September 2018
Author: R. M. Romero
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 288 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical, Historical Fiction
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month, eBooks

About R. M. Romero

R.M. Romero is a Cuban-American author who lives with her family and a menagerie of pets in Colorado. Currently, she occupies her time working in a haunted hotel, reading fairy tales, hiking, studying languages, and writing every moment she gets.

More About R. M. Romero

More Books By R. M. Romero

Cover for The Dollmaker of Krakow by R. M. Romero
View All Books By R. M. Romero

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.