LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Dark Blade Whispers of the Gods Book 1

Written by Steve Feasey

Part of the Whispers of the Gods Series

Adventure Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 13+ readers General Fiction

LoveReading View on Dark Blade Whispers of the Gods Book 1

Swordplay, witchery and warring gods abound in this fantastical adventure, the first swashbuckling book in a new series.

Fast-paced and brimming with earthy atmosphere, this flavorsome feast follows the high-stakes quest of Lann and Astrid in their Viking-esque kingdom. It serves up a satisfying, easy-to-digest banquet that will be devoured by younger teens and reluctant readers who love high fantasy, but struggle with huge casts of characters and excessively complicated worlds.

Lann is a foundling whose father turns on him following the death of his wife: “A curse, left by evil spirits to bring us misery!” he accuses. After encountering a terrifying wolf-man hybrid and losing his sight, Lann is taken-in by Fleya, a powerful witch to whom he has a close connection. Soon after, Lann takes-up the Dreadblade, one of the kingdom’s Swords of Destiny, which has been “woken from its torpor and desires to go about its work again”. His sight restored by the sword, Lann and the Dreadblade are now bound by fate.

Meanwhile, across the kingdom, Astrid’s father, the king, has been murdered and she must find his killer before her brother is blamed for the crime. When Astrid’s life entwines with Lann’s, it falls to them to save the kingdom from the stirring evil.

Alongside the thrill of monsters, witches and warring gods, the main characters have great appeal. Astrid is a fabulous, fiercely-minded young woman, and the loving, protective relationship between Fleya and Lann is brilliantly evoked.

Joanne Owen

Dark Blade Whispers of the Gods Book 1 Synopsis

Lann knows nothing of his mysterious past, but by his fifteenth birthday he will come face to face with destiny. For Lann must wield the Dreadblade, an ancient sword forged to defeat terrible monsters. Across the mountains a King has been murdered. His daughter, Astrid, is a warrior with no desire to bear the crown. Only she can uncover her father's killer before her brother is framed for the crime. Evil is stirring. Lann and Astrid are the kingdom's last defence. Together, they must face the greatest darkness their world has ever known.

Dark Blade Whispers of the Gods Book 1 Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

This book was an absolute smasher and I will be keeping an eye on this series from now on! Full review

Emily Lonsdale (Age 13)

I loved reading this book it was really good and the idea was fantastic. Full review

Seren Daly (Age 12)

Dark Blade Whispers of the Gods Book 1 Press Reviews

This has everything you want from an epic fantasy adventure - devious Gods, hideous monsters, a portal to another dimension and a hero with an enchanted blade. Great stuff - Charlie Higson, author of the Young Bond series

Fans of Rick Riordan and John Flanagan have a whole new world of dark magic, mysterious gods and brave heroes waiting for them - Sebastien de Castell, author of the Spellslinger series

Dark Blade is a razor-sharp, spellbinding read full of intrigue and magic. This tale truly takes the crown as the young heir to the likes of Game of Thrones and Throne of Glass - Chris Bradford, author of the Young Samurai series

A daring and exciting swords-and-sorcery fantasy - traditional in the very best sense of the word. I thoroughly enjoyed this classic tale of monsters, magic and swashbuckling adventure - Kesia Lupo, author of We Are Blood and Thunder

Feasey brings us a fresh new fantasy hero in the form of Lann Fetlanger. The world of Strom is rich with peril, political intrigue, conspiracies and betrayals ... Conflicted heroes, cursed swords, diabolical sorcerers and warrior princesses. Why aren't you reading this already? - Sarwat Chadda, author of The Ash Mistry Chronicles series

An epic dark fantasy set in an arcane world where kings are murdered, monsters roam and ordinary boys are given extraordinary gifts - Mark Walden, author of the H.I.V.E. series

A powerful, compelling story in a world that stays with you - Angie Sage, author of the Septimus Heap series

If you loved this, you might like these...

La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Tulip Taylor
The Weight of a Thousand Feathers
Toffee

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408873397
Publication date: 11/07/2019
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408873397
Publication date: 11th July 2019
Author: Steve Feasey
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 13+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical, General Fiction

About Steve Feasey

Steve Feasey was born and brought up in Hertfordshire. The youngest child, and the only boy, of four, he found himself reading books, of which there were always lots to be found around the house. Thanks to his father’s love of reading, Steve grew up on adventure stories by Robert Louis Stevenson, Rudyard Kipling, Edgar Rice Burrows and Jack London.A late-comer to writing, Changeling was Steve’s first novel and, as he says “I consider myself supremely fortunate to have had my first stab at writing published”.Steve describes the experience of writing Changeling ...

More About Steve Feasey

More Books By Steve Feasey

Cover for Changeling: Zombie Dawn by Steve Feasey
Cover for Changeling: Demon Games by Steve Feasey
Cover for Changeling: Blood Wolf by Steve Feasey
View All Books By Steve Feasey

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×