LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Timmy Failure: The Book You're Not Supposed to Have

Written by Stephan Pastis

Illustrated by Stephan Pastis

Part of the Timmy Failure Series

Write A Review

Timmy Failure: The Book You're Not Supposed to Have Review

Crime / Mystery Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Funny School Stories

In a nutshell: absurd comedy genius

Timmy Failure is the best worst detective in children’s fiction, and a wonderful comic creation.  In this adventure he’s having to ply his trade very surreptitiously indeed – Mum has banned all detective work until the school holidays. To make things worse, forced to share his room with his cousins, he must set up his office in a garden shed at the local hardware superstore, a place referred to always as Home Despot. Additional trials in Timmy’s life include piano lessons, and trips to orthodontist Mr A Goni. The plot brings even the most surreal strands together and it’s very satisfying. Timmy narrates with the exasperated air of the misunderstood genius and his version of events is just one of the things that makes these books so enjoyable.

Timmy Failure will appeal to fans of those other thwarted heroes Tom GatesBarry Loser and Greg Heffley.

Andrea Reece

Other Info

For lots of fun downloads, games & activities visit www.timmyfailure.com

And Timmy Failure is now on Poptropica© - a games website that is popular with children around the world! 

Timmy Failure: The Book You're Not Supposed to Have Synopsis

Timmy Failure returns once more in the hilarious fifth book in the New York Times bestselling series, perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates and Barry Loser. The only thing you need to know about Timmy's latest memoir is that it was never meant for publication. Timmy's detective log was stolen, and if this book gets out, Timmy will be grounded for life. Or maybe even longer. Because while Timmy was meant to be focusing on schoolwork, he was continuing his detective work in a garden shed. You don't need the details. Just know this: there's a Merry, a Larry, a missing tooth and a disappearing friend. But don't tell Timmy's mother!

Timmy Failure: The Book You're Not Supposed to Have Press Reviews

A brilliantly bad detective  Guardian

If you loved this, you might like these...

Anisha, Accidental Detective: Show Stoppers
The Case of the Disgusting School Dinners
Timmy Failure: The Cat Stole My Pants
Timmy Failure: Sanitized for Your Protection

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406387223
Publication date: 05/09/2019
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781406387223
Publication date: 01/06/2017
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406387223
Publication date: 5th September 2019
Author: Stephan Pastis
Illustrator: Stephan Pastis
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 304 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Funny, School Stories

About Stephan Pastis

Stephan Pastis is the author-illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Timmy Failure series. The first book, Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made, was a 2014 BookTrust Best Book Awards winner and listed as one of 100 Children's Modern Classics by The Sunday Times. Stephan is also the creator of the devoutly followed comic strip Pearls Before Swine, which appears in more than 700 newspapers worldwide, including the Metro. Stephan lives in northern California, USA. Read more about the author here.   Photo by Susan Young

More About Stephan Pastis

More Books By Stephan Pastis

Cover for Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made by Stephan Pastis
Cover for Timmy Failure: The Cat Stole My Pants by Stephan Pastis
Cover for Timmy Failure: Sanitized for Your Protection by Stephan Pastis
View All Books By Stephan Pastis

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×