Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more


Written by K. M. Peyton

Classic Fiction Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers

LoveReading View on Flambards

Christina is sent to stay with her terrifying uncle and her cousins at Flambards, a rambling house in the country where riding and hunting are the most prized activities. Everything about the countryside - and her relatives - is new to Christina but she soon finds she loves riding. And, in different ways, she begins to love her cousins. The first volume in a hugely romantic trilogy.

Flambards in a nutshell:

Orphan girl sent to live with cruel uncle in big country house. Learns to love riding and horses.  Three boys in her life – horrid cousin Mark, nice cousin Will and poor, but lovely, groom Dick. Which of these super boys will she end up with? Fantastic preworld war one family saga.

Just click here to view our range of Children’s Classics.


Flambards Synopsis

The first in a trilogy, twelve-year-old Christina is sent to live with her fierce uncle and his two sons in their decaying mansion, Flambards. Christina discovers a passion for horses and riding, but finds herself part of a strange household, divided by emotional undercurrents and cruelty.

Oxford Children’s Books has produced some absolutely delightful new editions of some enduring and unforgettable classics, including Hound of the Baskervilles, Little Women, The Jungle Book, Anne of Green Gables, Treasure Island and Ballet Shoes.  The texts are complete and unabridged and each of them is beautifully designed in a small format hardback edition.  They’re books to treasure and return to again and again.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Return to Wonderland
Mister Cleghorn's Seal
Athena: The Story of a Goddess
The Five Realms: The Gift of Dark Hollow

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780192720030
Publication date: 02/08/2007
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9780192720030
Publication date: 02/08/2007
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9780192719553
Publication date: 01/01/2004
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780192720030
Publication date: 2nd August 2007
Author: K. M. Peyton
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Hardback
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Classic Fiction
Other Categories: Bookshelf Essentials, Pony Mad

About K. M. Peyton

Born in 1929 K. M. Peyton is a well known and well loved author of over 50 books for children. Author of the Flambards Series and A Pattern of Roses, both of which have been adapted for film, she was winner of the Carnegie Medal in 1969 for The Edge of the Cloud, part of the Flambards Series.

More About K. M. Peyton

More Books By K. M. Peyton

Cover for Wild Lily by K. M. Peyton
Cover for Wild Lily by K. M. Peyton
Cover for Dear Fred by K. M. Peyton
View All Books By K. M. Peyton

Share this book