Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Edge of the Cloud

Written by K. M. Peyton

Write A Review

The Edge of the Cloud Review

Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Historical Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks

Winner of the 1969 CILIP Carnegie Medal   K.M. Peyton won the Carnegie Medal for this romantic and passionate story set in the run up to World War 1. A sequel to Flambards, it tells how Christina, now seventeen, fleeing her raging uncle and his plans for her marriage, elopes with Will and begins a new life with him as he pursues his passion for flying. Will finds work on an airfield where he can fly and design planes in the hope of being able to earn enough money to marry Christina. To be near him, Christina gets work in a hotel. K.M. Peyton captures their happiness despite the dangers of flying and the threat of the possible war. When war is declared, Will signs up swiftly for the newly formed Royal Flying Corps and all the dangers it will entail.


The Edge of the Cloud Synopsis

The First World War is looming and for young sweethearts, Christina and Will, their adventures are just beginning as they head to London - their heads full of dreams. But the reality is altogether more difficult. Will has just one ambition - to design and pilot flying machines. As he strives to fulfil his dream, Christina is left to make a new life for herself around the airfield. She soon makes friends and begins to enjoy her newly-found independence but nothing will ever overcome her terror of the aeroplanes that Will loves so much. And when war breaks out, she fears the worst ...that she may lose the man she loves for ever. This much-loved story was the winner of the Carnegie Medal.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Swallows' Flight
Echo Mountain
Dragonfly Eyes
Windrush Child

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780192736352
Publication date: 03/04/2014
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780192736352
Publication date: 3rd April 2014
Author: K. M. Peyton
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories, Historical Fiction
Recommendations: eBooks
Other Categories: Carnegie Greenaway, The First World War

About K. M. Peyton

Born in 1929 K. M. Peyton is a well known and well loved author of over 50 books for children. Author of the Flambards Series and A Pattern of Roses, both of which have been adapted for film, she was winner of the Carnegie Medal in 1969 for The Edge of the Cloud, part of the Flambards Series.

More About K. M. Peyton

More Books By K. M. Peyton

Cover for Flambards by K. M. Peyton
Cover for Wild Lily by K. M. Peyton
Cover for Wild Lily by K. M. Peyton
View All Books By K. M. Peyton

Share this book