Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Viking Saga

Written by Henry Treece

Part of the A Puffin Book Series

The Viking Saga Synopsis

Into this breathtaking trilogy is woven the true spirit of the Vikings, who great thirst for travelling the seas took them on incredible voyages in defiance of icy waters, terrible hardships and bloodthirsty resistance. It is AD 780. Viking's Dawn sees a young Norse boy, Harald Sigurdson, set sail for the Hebrides in the longship 'Nameless'. The goal: to plunder the helpless coastal villages of Britain. Just five years later, undeterred by his first desperate journey, the dauntless warrior puts to sea once again, in The Road to Miklagard - this time lured by the news of a fabulous hoard of treasure. After a lifetime struggling with the bitter waves, Harald embarks on his last voyage in Viking's Sunset, this time not for gain but to seek vengeance on a blood enemy.

The Good Book Guide Review

An exciting trilogy in which a young Norse boy (Harald Sigurdson) joins the hardy crew of a Viking longship on its voyage of discovery and plunder.

Book Information

ISBN: 9780141368658
Publication date: 7th July 2016
Author: Henry Treece
Publisher: Puffin an imprint of Penguin Random House Children's UK
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 624 pages

About Henry Treece

Henry Treece (1911-1966) was born in the West Midlands. He went to Wednesbury High School and Birmingham University where he graduated in 1933. He began work as a teacher and then served as an intelligence officer with RAF Bomber Command during the Second World War. He began his literary career as a poet and writer, and is best known for his many historical novels for children, including the Roman books Legions of the Eagle and The Eagles Have Flown, and the Norse trilogy Viking's Dawn, The Road to Miklagard and Viking's Sunset.

More About Henry Treece

More Books By Henry Treece

Cover for Last of the Vikings (Henry Treece) (Literary Thoughts Edition) by Henry Treece
Cover for Last of the Vikings by Henry Treece
Cover for Legions of the Eagle (Henry Treece) (Literary Thoughts Edition) by Henry Treece
View All Books By Henry Treece

Share this book