Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

All Souls

Written by Javier Marias

Part of the Penguin Modern Classics Series

All Souls Synopsis

All Souls is a compelling black comedy of Oxford life by Javier Marias, whose highly-anticipated new novel The Infatuations is published in 2013. This Penguin Modern Classics edition features a new Introduction by John Banville, author of The Sea. The pretty young tutor Clare Bayes attracts many eyes at an Oxford college dinner, not least those of a visiting Spanish lecturer (desperate to escape his conversation with an obese economist about an eighteenth-century cider tax). As they begin an affair, meeting in hotel bedrooms away from the eyes of Clare's husband, the Spaniard finds himself increasingly drawn into the strange world of Oxford, 'one of the cities in the world where the least work gets done', in a story of lust, loneliness, vanity and memory. Filled with brilliant set pieces and pin-sharp observation, All Souls is a masterpiece of black humour.

All Souls Press Reviews

An intelligent and well written book with exceptionally funny set pieces * The Indepdent on Sunday * Probably the wittiest novel set in British academia since David Lodge's Changing Places * Daily Mail * A dazzling example of the Oxford novel, with all the ingenuity and the humour and the nostalgia we could hope for * The Times Literary Supplement *

Book Information

ISBN: 9780141389240
Publication date: 2nd August 2012
Author: Javier Marias
Publisher: Penguin Classics an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 240 pages

About Javier Marias

Javier Marias is the author of sixteen works in Spanish, which have been translated into forty-five languages including English. His translated English works are All Souls, A Heart So White, Tomorrow in the Battle Think on Me, When I Was Mortal, Dark Back of Time, The Man of Feeling, Voyage Along the Horizon, Written Lives, the Your Face Tomorrow trilogy (Fever and Spear, Dance and Dream and Poison, Shadow and Farewell), Bad Nature, While the Women Are Sleeping, The Infatuations, Thus Bad Begins and, Venice, An Interior. Javier Marias has received numerous literary prizes including the International IMPAC Dublin Literary ...

More About Javier Marias

More Books By Javier Marias

Cover for To Begin At The Beginning The Cahier Series 28 by Javier Marias
Cover for Your Face Tomorrow Fever and Spear / Dance and Dream / Poison, Shadow, and Farewell by Javier Marias
Cover for Berta Isla by Javier Marias
View All Books By Javier Marias

Share this book