Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Modern Library Collection Children's Classics 5-Book Bundle

Written by Kenneth Grahame, Lewis Carroll, J.M. Barrie, Alexandre Dumas

Modern Library Collection Children's Classics 5-Book Bundle Synopsis

For young dreamers, nostalgic parents, and imaginative readers of all ages, this wonderful eBook collection not only contains five of the most beloved children's books in the world but some of the most admired and enduring literature ever put to page. Each of these can be considered a ';Household Book,' as A. A. Milne so affectionately described The Wind in the Willows—books that ';everybody in the household loves, and quotes continually ever afterwards; [books which are] read aloud to every new guest.'   THE WIND IN THE WILLOWS Kenneth Grahame   Written by Kenneth Grahame as bedtime stories for his son, The Wind in the Willows continues to delight readers today. Basing his fanciful animal characters on human archetypes, Grahame imparts a gentle, playful wisdom in his timeless tales. Few readers will be able to resist an invitation to join the Wild Wooders at Toad Hall, enjoy a quick splash in the river with Rat and Badger, or take a swerving ride with Toad in a ';borrowed' motor-car.   ALICE'S ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND & THROUGH THE LOOKING-GLASS Lewis Carroll   Conceived by a shy British don on a golden afternoon to entertain ten-year-old Alice Liddell and her sisters, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass have delighted generations of readers in more than eighty languages. ';The clue to the enduring fascination and greatness of the Alice books,' writes A. S. Byatt in her Introduction, ';lies in language. It is play, and word-play, and its endless intriguing puzzles continue to reveal themselves long after we have ceased to be children.'   PETER PAN J. M. Barrie   Set in London and and the magical Neverland, J. M. Barrie's tale of a boy who refuses to grow up has delighted generations of readers. In this novel, which Barrie adapted from his 1904 play, Peter introduces Wendy, Michael, and John Darling to the fairy Tinker Bell and the lost boys. Together, they do battle with Captain Hook and his fierce band of pirates.   THE THREE MUSKETEERS Alexandre Dumas   First published in 1844, Alexandre Dumas's swashbuckling epic chronicles the adventures of D'Artagnan, a gallant young nobleman who journeys to Paris in 1625 hoping to join the ranks of the musketeers guarding Louis XIII. He soon finds himself fighting alongside three heroic comrades—Athos, Porthos, and Aramis—who seek to uphold the honor of the king by foiling the wicked plots of Cardinal Richelieu and the beautiful spy ';Milady.'

Book Information

ISBN: 9780812984477
Publication date: 23rd July 2012
Author: Kenneth Grahame, Lewis Carroll, J.M. Barrie, Alexandre Dumas
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group Modern Library
Format: eBook

Share this book