LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Waffle Hearts

Written by Maria Parr

Waffle Hearts Synopsis

Meet Lena Lid, Norway's very own answer to Pippi Longstocking; a feisty, funny girl whose days are packed with offbeat adventures. Nine-year-olds Trille and Lena are neighbours and best friends - at least, Trille thinks that Lena is his best friend, despite the escapades into which she regularly drags him. In the wonderful village of Mathildewick Cove they have plenty of time to re-enact the story of Noah's Ark (or Noah's Shark, as Lena calls it), enjoy the beginning of summer celebrations with their families and even advertise for a new dad for Lena. Trille and Lena will make exciting companions for young readers as they share their fun-filled antics, as well as some important understandings of family and friendship.

Waffle Hearts Press Reviews

Perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking . . . a heartbreaking, heartmaking, hilariously funny tale . . an honest, sensitive exploration of death, loss and grief . . . bold and brilliant. * playingbythebook.net * This really is a tremendous book, with everything I could hope for in a book to share with my children; beauty, wit, wisdom, joy, thoughtfulness and a lot of fun * playingbythebook.net * Stuffed full of fun, innocence, naughtiness, passion . . . Maria Parr approaches death, loss and uncertainty with great compassion and understanding * Bookaroo * Full of giggles, thoughtfulness, compassion, joy, this is a dream book; fans of Pippi Longstocking will love it. Anyone who wants to experience a bit of joie-de-vivre will revel in it, and yet it doesn't shy away from big and important issues like telling friends how much they mean to you, and the grief that comes from the death of loved ones. * Little Buttons * Absolutely hilarious, fabulous characters and a few little sad bits make this book one of my favourite reads this year. * Library Mice * Set in Norway, this hilarious tale will capture your heart. * Beaufort Street Books *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406341362
Publication date: 3rd October 2013
Author: Maria Parr
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 240 pages

About Maria Parr

Maria Parr is a talented young Norwegian writer who has won the Brage Prize, the Critics' Award, the Zilveren Griffel and the Prix Sorcieres. She has a Master's degree in Nordic languages and literature and currently works part-time as a primary school teacher. She lives in Norway. Guy Puzey grew up in the Highlands of Scotland, just a short swim away from Norway. He began translating Norwegian literature in 2006, having studied the language at the University of Edinburgh. In 2011 he went on to complete a doctorate on Italian and Norwegian language policy. He works at the University as a course ...

More About Maria Parr

More Books By Maria Parr

Cover for Astrid the Unstoppable by Maria Parr
View All Books By Maria Parr

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×