LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Tales from Schwartzgarten: Osbert the Avenger Book 1

Written by Christopher William Hill

Part of the Tales from Schwartzgarten Series

Tales from Schwartzgarten: Osbert the Avenger Book 1 Synopsis

The first book in the gruesomely funny Tales from Schwartzgarten series. Meet Osbert Brinkhoff, the unlikeliest of avengers. His is a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge. The villains are vicious. The settings are sinister. And good does NOT always prevail... If you prefer cleavers to kittens and fiends to fairies...then welcome to the GRUESOMELY FUNNY Tales from Schwartzgarten. -Osbert the Avenger is the first in a thrilling series of four books, all set in the fictional city of Schwartzgarten -With shades of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, the Tales from Schwartzgarten are as hilarious as they are dark -This brilliantly woven mock-gothic tale has huge child appeal

Tales from Schwartzgarten: Osbert the Avenger Book 1 Press Reviews

Christopher William's style is similar to Roald Dahl ... hilarious * The List * A great story with that real gothic sense of macabre... almost pantomime with horror... I laughed all through it. * Nine to Noon Show (Radio New Zealand) * You want to be caught up in the thrall of delicious deviance and page-turning scandal, go on, get stuck in. * Sarah McIntyre * Gruesomely funny. * School Librarian * If you like your reading dark and gruesome, then this is the series for you! * Parents in Touch * This man is darker, funnier and more alive than Roald Dahl. * Dan Patterson, creator of Mock The Week and Whose Line Is It Anyway * A macabre tale full of ghoulish and gruesome escapades. Fans of Lemony Snicket and Edward Gorey will delight in this sinister story. * Booktrust * This is a brilliantly written book with fantastic characters. It is a real page-turner, a hilarious read and it will delight boys and girls alike. * EdOntheWeb.com * Gruesomely funny. This brilliantly woven mock-gothic tale has huge child appeal. * West Books * Macabre and gruesome and wickedly funny. * Julia Eccleshare, lovereading.co.uk * A more deliciously gruesome tale of injury, revenge and murder it would be hard to find. * * * * * * bookbag.co.uk * A gruesomely funny story... a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge. * West Briton * Rules are broken in a carnival manner that is deliciously and genuinely thrilling * Books for Keeps * If you love your teachers and have never entertained the thought of murdering them in the most diabolically appropriate way, then this book should probably be avoided at all costs. * Lion & Unicorn Books * A riveting story - a clever mix of humour with some very dark and gruesome moments and a couple of real shocks towards the end. * Primary Times * One of those rare books children will happily read aloud to each other, which is one of the highest accolades a story can have. * * * * * * bookbag.co.uk * Looks set to be a hugely successful new series. Marvelously detailed. There are three more bloodthirsty and hilarious adventures to come. * School Librarian * A refreshingly unusual read. * Peters Gazette * Highly original... gruesome but funny. * parentsintouch.co.uk * Bloodthirsty and mysterious with a sharp spike in its tail, Osbert's story is a deliciously dark invitation to the strange world of Schwartzgarten, a city corrupt with shadows and secrets - and in need of a hero. * We Love this Book * A macabre tale full of ghoulish and gruesome escapades. A frightening but appealing anti-hero. * Booktrust * An idiosyncratic comic fantasy... it is likely that children will be most enthusiastic. * Books For Keeps * Utterly absorbing. * The Daily Telegraph * Dark and funny in a very horrible way. * Sunday Express * For readers who like their stories darkly comic, in the style of Lemony Snicket... elaborate murders, twists and narrow escapes. * Sunday Times * Fans of Roald Dahl, Chris Priestly and Lemony Snicket will savour every gruesome drop of this stylish, grisly and original comedy. * The Times *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408314555
Publication date: 6th June 2013
Author: Christopher William Hill
Publisher: Orchard Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 352 pages

About Christopher William Hill

Christopher William Hill was born in Truro, in Cornwall - a little jaundiced, but that was to be expected in the grim days of the 1970s. His mother was a former nurse, so Christopher grew up with a copy of Black's Medical Dictionary to hand, which was ideal reading matter for an enthusiastic hypochondriac. He liked acting and putting on silly voices, and collecting ancient relics which he gathered in a large walk-in wardrobe that called his 'museum'. Christopher loves walking, ocean liners, airships, Victoriana and cake shops.

More About Christopher William Hill

More Books By Christopher William Hill

Cover for The Lily-livered Prince by Christopher William Hill
Cover for The Woebegone Twins by Christopher William Hill
Cover for Osbert the Avenger by Christopher William Hill
View All Books By Christopher William Hill

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×