LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Dark Blade Whispers of the Gods Book 1

Written by Steve Feasey

Part of the Whispers of the Gods Series

Dark Blade Whispers of the Gods Book 1 Synopsis

A sweeping epic fantasy perfect for fans of the Summoner trilogy by Taran Matharu and Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo WHEN GODS FAIL, WHO WILL KEEP THE DARKNESS OUT? Lann knows nothing of his mysterious past, but by his fifteenth birthday he will come face to face with destiny. For Lann must wield the Dreadblade, an ancient sword forged to defeat terrible monsters. Across the mountains a King has been murdered. His daughter, Astrid, is a warrior with no desire to bear the crown. Only she can uncover her father's killer before her brother is framed for the crime. Evil is stirring. Lann and Astrid are the kingdom's last defence. Together, they must face the greatest darkness their world has ever known.

Dark Blade Whispers of the Gods Book 1 Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

This book was an absolute smasher and I will be keeping an eye on this series from now on! Full review

Emily Lonsdale (Age 13)

I loved reading this book it was really good and the idea was fantastic. Full review

Seren Daly (Age 12)

This book is full of mystery and evil. In a world of darkness Lann and Astrid must journey into the unknown to uncover a sinister plot. Full review

Alex Hall (Age 13)

Dark Blade Whispers of the Gods Book 1 Press Reviews

This has everything you want from an epic fantasy adventure - devious Gods, hideous monsters, a portal to another dimension and a hero with an enchanted blade. Great stuff * Charlie Higson, author of the Young Bond series * Terrific, vivid storytelling ... Feasey is a skilled weaver of atmosphere, whether that's the all-consuming fury of a fight, or the oppressive fear born of hunting a monster through a fog-shrouded wood. Dark Blade is a rollicking adventure * SFX * Fans of Rick Riordan and John Flanagan have a whole new world of dark magic, mysterious gods and brave heroes waiting for them * Sebastien de Castell, author of the Spellslinger series * Dark Blade is a razor-sharp, spellbinding read full of intrigue and magic. This tale truly takes the crown as the young heir to the likes of Game of Thrones and Throne of Glass * Chris Bradford, author of the Young Samurai series * A daring and exciting swords-and-sorcery fantasy - traditional in the very best sense of the word. I thoroughly enjoyed this classic tale of monsters, magic and swashbuckling adventure * Kesia Lupo, author of We Are Blood and Thunder * Feasey brings us a fresh new fantasy hero in the form of Lann Fetlanger. The world of Strom is rich with peril, political intrigue, conspiracies and betrayals ... Conflicted heroes, cursed swords, diabolical sorcerers and warrior princesses. Why aren't you reading this already? * Sarwat Chadda, author of The Ash Mistry Chronicles series * An epic dark fantasy set in an arcane world where kings are murdered, monsters roam and ordinary boys are given extraordinary gifts * Mark Walden, author of the H.I.V.E. series * A powerful, compelling story in a world that stays with you * Angie Sage, author of the Septimus Heap series *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408873397
Publication date: 11th July 2019
Author: Steve Feasey
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 352 pages

About Steve Feasey

Steve Feasey lives in Hertfordshire with his wife and children. He says he didn't learn much at school, but he was always a voracious reader. He started writing fiction in his thirties, inspired by his own favourite writers: Stephen King, Elmore Leonard and Charles Dickens. His first book, Changeling, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Prize and became a successful series. He is also the author of the acclaimed Mutant City series. This is his first novel set in the world of Stromgard. @stevefeasey

More About Steve Feasey

More Books By Steve Feasey

Cover for Dark Blade Whispers of the Gods Book 1 by Steve Feasey
Cover for Changeling: Zombie Dawn by Steve Feasey
Cover for Changeling: Demon Games by Steve Feasey
View All Books By Steve Feasey

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×