LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Wizard In My Shed The Misadventures of Merdyn the Wild

Written by Simon Farnaby

Illustrated by Claire Powell

Part of the The Misadventures of Merdyn the Wild Series

Write A Review

The Wizard In My Shed The Misadventures of Merdyn the Wild Synopsis

Merdyn the Wild is from the Dark Ages. He's the world's greatest Warlock (don't call him a wizard), banished to the 21st century for bad behaviour, and he's about to create a whole load of trouble for Rose, aged 12. Rose is a totally ordinary girl, on a mission to mend her broken family. Bubbles is Rose's guinea pig. He just poos a lot. When Rose bumps into Merdyn and discovers what he is, she quickly realises that he could be just what she needs. Rose agrees to help Merdyn navigate the confusing ways of the modern world (things like: the lidded bowl in the bathroom is NOT a sink, it's a TOILET, so definitely DON'T wash your face in it) if Merdyn gives her a spell to fix her family in return. Now they just need to hide him in the shed without Rose's mum noticing, track down Merdyn's magic staff and find a way to send Merdyn back through time to the Dark Ages. What could possibly go wrong...? From the writer of the Paddington 2 movie and writer and star of Horrible Histories, this hilariously silly, heartfelt adventure with a historical twist is perfect for fans of David Walliams and David Baddiel.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781444954630
Publication date: 1st October 2020
Author: Simon Farnaby
Illustrator: Claire Powell
Publisher: Hodder Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 384 pages

About Simon Farnaby

Simon Farnaby has written and starred in some of the UK's best-loved family TV such as Horrible Histories, and Ghosts, and films such as Paddington and Paddington 2. The Wizard in My Shed was his first children's book. When not writing or acting, Simon is a keen amateur wizard and can often be found in his garden (unsuccessfully) conjuring vegetable spells. Claire is an illustrator, writer and designer who lives and works in London. She has spent several years as a design director in the world of channel rebranding working for clients such as Nickelodeon, BBC Three, CBBC and BBC One. ...

More About Simon Farnaby

More Books By Simon Farnaby

Cover for The Warrior in My Wardrobe  by Simon Farnaby
Cover for The Wizard In My Shed  by Simon Farnaby
Cover for The Warrior in My Wardrobe More Misadventures with Merdyn the Wild! by Simon Farnaby
View All Books By Simon Farnaby

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×