LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Silver Arrow

Written by Lev Grossman

The Silver Arrow Synopsis

Discover the magical, timeless children's adventure from Lev Grossman, author of The Magicians. Now a New York Times bestseller! When Kate is given a colossal steam train for her birthday, she can't believe her luck. After eleven years of waiting, adventure has finally found her! Soon the Silver Arrow is whisking Kate and her brother Tom to a magical station where their passengers stand ready to board. From the porcupine to the pangolin, each one is rare and wonderful. But these animals have been waiting a very long time too. Can Kate deliver them home ... before it's too late? Lev Grossman's first children's book is a journey you'll never forget: a rip roaring adventure from desert plains to snow covered mountains and everything in-between. Packed with exciting creatures from the indignant porcupine to the lost polar bear and the adorable baby pangolin, The Silver Arrow is a classic story about saving our endangered animals and the places they live.

The Silver Arrow Press Reviews

Brimming with imagination and hope for the future * Catherine Doyle, bestselling author of The Storm Keeper's Island * There's nothing so rare as a fantasy that elicits genuine wonder and that uses marvelous things to enrich a child's appreciation of ordinary ones. So Lev Grossman's novel The Silver Arrow is something special. Here is an adventure story for 8- to 12-year-olds that's bursting with life and real feeling, told in a sparkling, informal style that parents will find effortless to read aloud * Wall Street Journal * Both cozy and inspiring, this eco-fable conveys both grim truths and a defiant call to action * Kirkus * I loved every page. This is middle grade fiction at its best * Ann Patchett * This gentle introduction to the complexities of life on this planet is a critical reminder not to despair over the enormity of human responsibility but to face it with joy and marvel at the magic that the world holds. It's a kind and clear message that all children-and their grownups-should take to heart * Booklist * Don't wait to hop aboard this magical locomotive adventure, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and the beloved Phantom Tollbooth, and one that's sure to become a classic all its own * B&N * If you're looking for a book that will make you laugh, and remind you how fun outrageous stories can be for your kids, you can do no better than The Silver Arrow. If your kid isn't quite old enough to love a wisecracking story about a magical train, buy the book anyway and read it for yourself. You just might find a part of yourself that you thought was lost * Lev Grossman's 'The Silver Arrow' Is the Perfect Kid's Chapter Book For Cranky Dads, Fatherly *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781526629418
Publication date: 3rd September 2020
Author: Lev Grossman
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 272 pages

About Lev Grossman

Lev Grossman is the bestselling author of the critically acclaimed Magicians trilogy, which has also become a successful TV series. Previously an award-winning journalist who interviewed the likes of Neil Gaiman and J.K. Rowling, this is his first foray into the world of children's literature. He lives in New York City with his wife and three children.

More About Lev Grossman

More Books By Lev Grossman

Cover for The Silver Arrow by Lev Grossman
Cover for The Magician's Land (Book 3) by Lev Grossman
Cover for The Magicians (Book 1) by Lev Grossman
View All Books By Lev Grossman

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×