LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Girl Thursday

Written by Joanna Nadin

Part of the Girl Thursday Series

Girl Thursday Synopsis

Monday 1st January - New Year's Resolutions 1) Persuade Marlene not to pursue her dream of becoming an alternative tattooed glamour model 2) Try to get breasts 3) Try not to get period, which so far am excelling at 4) Snog someone, preferably Dexter Braithwaite 5) Don't get killed by my own knickers Perpetual worrier Thursday Jones is at the end of her tether. She lives in semi-squalid (in her eyes) chaos subsisting mainly on Supanoodles; her mum has no qualms about revealing the gruesome details of the day's A&E patients; her big sister Marlene is boy-obsessed, as is their internet-dating nan; her twin sisters terrorize their primary school; and her estranged dad is an Elvis impersonator called Pelvis Presley who ran off with his backing singer with whom he now has a mildly delinquent three-year-old called Hank Junior. Aunt Jeanie says she should woman up and watch some YouTube like a normal teenager; best friend Millie says there are more important things to worry about like climate change, or everyday sexism and Mum says she's taking life too seriously. Worried that she's overdosing on oestrogen Alabama sets out to find some men, including a boyfriend for Mum, a potential boyfriend for herself, and, unsolicited, an idiotic dog called Dave. A laugh-out-loud diary following Thursday Jones as she navigates the every day trials of life, perfect for fans of DORK DIARIES and GEEK GIRL.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781847159113
Publication date: 1st April 2018
Author: Joanna Nadin
Publisher: Stripes Publishing an imprint of Little Tiger Press Group
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 224 pages

About Joanna Nadin

Joanna has written more than 70 books for children and teenagers, including the RACHEL RILEY DIARIES and FLYING FERGUS series. She's won the Fantastic Book Award, been shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize and Queen of Teen, and nominated for the Carnegie medal for JOE ALL ALONE. Joanna has a PhD in young adult literature, lectures in creative writing at Bath Spa University and lives in Bath. Visit joannanadin.com | @joannanadin

More About Joanna Nadin

More Books By Joanna Nadin

Cover for It Wasn't Me: A Bloomsbury Young Reader by Joanna Nadin
Cover for The Incredible Billy Wild by Joanna Nadin
Cover for White Lies, Black Dare by Joanna Nadin
View All Books By Joanna Nadin

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×