Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Charlie Bone and the Red Knight Series

Jenny Nimmo’s magical ‘Children of the Red King’ series featuring Charlie Bone has just had its eighth and final book published in paperback. So now is the perfect time to enjoy them all.

Filter: Baby and Toddler 3+ readers 5+ readers 7+ readers 9+ readers 11+ readers 13+ readers YA readers Indie Author Books

Charlie Bone’s adventures have been wowing kids of 9+ since 2002. Charlie is a ten-year-old who discovers that he has inherited supernatural powers and is sent off to a special academy to refine them. Some will say the series has echoes of the Harry Potter books but Charlie, unlike Harry, possesses the unique gift of being able to look at a photograph and suddenly hear the conversations and thoughts that took place at the time it was taken, which is how he discovers he is a distant relation of the Magical Red King.

The series has been a global phenomena in the English language but it has also been translated into over 20 languages including Japanese, Norwegian and Serbian!

British author, Jenny Nimmo, has lived in Wales for many years and she says she gets much of her inspiration from Welsh myths and legends. She’s the author of more than 50 books for children and young-adult readers. It could well have been many more but Jenny did not begin writing in earnest until she became a mother, though she had always written far-fetched, sometimes gory tales when she was in her teens. She says, "A lot of people, my teachers particularly, used to throw my books back at me and tell me not to write such rubbish so I took them at their word and I stopped writing. Perhaps if I'd persevered then I might have started writing earlier, but I didn't have the confidence."

There are eight books in the series and to read them in order see the list below. We hope you enjoy discovering this brilliant and unputdownable series of books for 9+ readers.

Children of the Red King Series:
1. Midnight for Charlie Bone
2. Charlie Bone & The Time Twister
3. Charlie Bone & The Blue Boa
4. Charlie Bone & The Castle of Mirrors
5. Charlie Bone & the Hidden King
6. Charlie Bone & the Wilderness Wolf
7. Charlie Bone & the Shadow of Badlock
8. Charlie Bone & the Red Knight